Below is an advertisement.

Bob Feller Act of Valor Award

In a first-of-its-kind unison linking the United States Navy and the professional baseball world, the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award was created in 2013 to recognize individuals for possessing the values, integrity and dedication to serving our country that Bob Feller himself displayed.

The award is presented annually to one professional baseball player, one Baseball Hall of Famer, and one US Navy Chief Petty Officer.

Peter Fertig created The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award with the support of the US Navy, the USS Alabama, The Cleveland Indians, the Baseball Hall of Fame, and the gracious consent of Mrs. Anne Feller.

Bob Feller is widely recognized as one of the greatest pitchers to have ever played the game, yet few know he voluntarily enlisted in the military just days following the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941. He was decorated with six campaign ribbons and eight battle stars, while serving on missions in both the Pacific and the North Atlantic, earning the rank of Chief Petty Officer.
2016 Class of Nominees:
Arizona Diamondbacks Brad Ziegler
Baltimore Orioles Darren O'Day
Boston Red Sox Dustin Pedroia
Chicago White Sox David Robertson
Cleveland Indians Corey Kluber
Houston Astros Scott Feldman
Kansas City Royals Wade Davis
Los Angeles Dodgers Ron Fairly
Miami Marlins Mike Dunn and Jeff Conine
Milwaukee Brewers Jimmy Nelson
Minnesota Twins Brian Dozier
Oakland Athletics Sean Doolittle
San Francisco Giants Jake Peavy
Tampa Bay Rays Matt Moore
Texas Rangers Bobby Jones
2016 Recipients
  • Sr. Chief Petty Officer Christopher Beeding
  • Brad Ziegler (Arizona Diamondbacks)
  • Rod Carew (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1991)
2015 Recipients
  • Chief Petty Officer Genell Cody (United States Navy)
  • Jonathan Lucroy (Milwaukee Brewers)
  • George Brett (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1999)
2014 Recipients
  • Senior Chief Petty Officer Carl Thompson (United States Navy)
  • Nick Swisher (Cleveland Indians)
  • Tommy Lasorda (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1997)
2013 Recipients
  • Chief Hospital Corpsman Garth Sinclair (United States Navy)
  • Justin Verlander (Detroit Tigers)
  • Lawrence "Yogi" Berra (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1972)