PrintPrint © 2004 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Braves announce NLDS roster
10/06/2004 12:32 PM ET
ATLANTA -- Without any surprise inclusions, the Braves announced their 25-man Division Series roster on Wednesday morning.

Because some of his pitchers have been battling some injuries, Cox toyed with the possibility of carrying 12 pitchers. But with Jaret Wright, Mike Hampton and John Thomson all showing signs of improvement, he opted instead to go with an 11-man staff.

The final selections on the roster were Wilson Betemit, who will fill the utility infielder role that had been manned by the injured Mark DeRosa, and Dewayne Wise, whose speed will be an added advantage off the bench.

Cox is carrying Johnny Estrada and Eddie Perez as his primary catchers. Eli Marrero has the capability of filling in behind the plate in emergency situations.

Because Horacio Ramirez's shoulder never showed improvement in September, the Braves will enter the postseason with Tom Martin as their only left-handed reliever.

Below is the Braves' Division Series roster:

Pitchers (11): RHP Antonio Alfonseca, RHP Paul Byrd, RHP Juan Cruz, RHP Kevin Gryboski, LHP Mike Hampton, LHP Tom Martin, RHP Russ Ortiz, RHP Chris Reitsma, RHP John Smoltz, RHP John Thomson and RHP Jaret Wright.

Catchers (2): Johnny Estrada and Eddie Perez.

Infielders (7): Wilson Betemit, Julio Franco, Rafael Furcal, Marcus Giles, Nick Green, Chipper Jones and Adam LaRoche.

Outfielders (5): J.D. Drew, Andruw Jones, Eli Marrero, Charles Thomas and Dewayne Wise.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Braves Homepage   |