PrintPrint © 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Atlanta Braves celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month with the launch of
09/18/2007 5:23 PM ET
In conjunction with Hispanic Heritage Month, the Atlanta Braves have launched celebrating the rich history of Hispanic players who have worn a Braves uniform.

The Braves Hispanic Heritage web page highlights the many contributions and achievements of current and former Braves players of Hispanic decent, beginning with a profile of Dennis Martinez, one of the winningest pitchers in MLB history. On Aug. 9, 1998, while a member of the Braves pitching staff, Martinez set the record for most wins by a Latin American pitcher.

The Hispanic Heritage website also features Player Biographies, Statistics, Career Highlights, Multimedia Clips, and a Photo Gallery.

A sampling of player profiles from -

Dennis Martinez - Also known as "El Presidente", Martinez won more games than any other Latin American pitcher, despite having less than 100 wins by the time he was 30 years old. Martinez pitched for 23 seasons, winning 26 games after the age of forty. In his final Major League season with the Braves, Martinez won his 244th game on August 9, 1998. With the win, he became the winningest Latin American pitcher in Major League history.

Andres Galarraga - After missing the 1999 season with Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, Galarraga won the hearts of baseball fans across the nation when he hit a game-winning home run in the first game of the 2000 season. Galarraga made the All Star game in 2000 and won the Comeback Player of the Year Award to cap off the memorable season.

Francisco Cabrera - Cabrera is most remembered for hitting the game-winning single that scored Sid Bream in Game 7 of the 1992 NLCS sending the Braves to the World Series, and inspiring Skip Caray to proclaim "Braves Win! Braves Win! Braves Win!". Cabrera was awarded the Key to the city of Atlanta for that historic base hit.

Javy Lopez - A member of the 1995 World Series Championship team, as well as the 1996 NLCS Most Valuable Player, Javy represented the Braves and National League in the All-Star games in 1997, 1998, and 2003. In 2003 Javy won the Comeback Player of the Year and earned a Silver Slugger Award.

The Atlanta Braves is Major League Baseball's winningest franchise since 1991. During that time, Braves teams have earned 14 division championships, five National League pennants and a World Series title. Based in Atlanta since 1966, the Braves franchise is the longest continuously operating franchise in Major League Baseball. Atlanta Braves games are telecast on TBS, FSN South and SportSouth, with radio broadcasts heard in Atlanta on 640 WGST and 94.9 The Bull and regionally on the Atlanta Braves Radio Network.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Braves Homepage   |