PrintPrint © 2006 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Jeter continues to top American League All-Star balloting
06/06/2006 11:32 AM ET
New York Yankees captain Derek Jeter continues to lead all American Leaguers in fan balloting for the 77th All-Star Game, to be played Tuesday, July 11th at Pittsburgh's PNC Park, it was announced today.

The Yankee shortstop, batting .344 with five home runs and 41 RBI, tops all A.L. players with 765,110 votes as he bids for his seventh All-Star appearance. Outfielder Vladimir Guerrero of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim is second in overall votes with 745,397. Guerrero, a six-time All-Star, ranks among the American League's top 10 in batting average (.329, 7th), home runs (15, tied for 7th) and RBI (48, 4th). Jeter and Guerrero are followed by Boston Red Sox outfielder Manny Ramirez (738,168) and New York third baseman Alex Rodriguez (731,811) for the most overall votes.

The other American League position leaders are Boston Red Sox catcher Jason Varitek (448,894); Red Sox first baseman David Ortiz (631,787); Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano (404,416); and Yankees outfielder Johnny Damon (529,770).

The tightest races are at second base, where the second-year Cano is edging Boston's Mark Loretta (368,226) and Tadahito Iguchi (348,691) of the Chicago White Sox, and at catcher, where the two-time All-Star Varitek has the lead over Ivan Rodriguez (398,852). The backstop of the Detroit Tigers is a 12-time Midsummer Classic participant whose 10 starts behind the plate are tied with Johnny Bench and Mike Piazza for most all-time.

Toronto Blue Jays outfielder Alex Rios remains the leading vote-getter among players who are not listed on the ballot. The 25-year-old Rios, whose .358 batting average is the highest in all of Major League Baseball, has received 103,084 write-in votes. Rios has 19 doubles, two triples, 10 home runs, 41 RBI, seven stolen bases and a .622 slugging percentage.

The Major League Baseball All-Star Balloting Program is the largest balloting program in professional sports. The fan balloting program will determine the eight position players from each League who will start the 77th All-Star Game. Ameriquest is sponsoring the 20 million ballots being distributed at the 29 U.S. Major League ballparks and the 1.9 million ballots being distributed to 117 Minor League Baseball Clubs that are in-season during the balloting period. MLB International rightsholder Rogers Personal TV is sponsoring in-stadium balloting at the Rogers Centre in Toronto. The in-stadium program will conclude at Minor League ballparks by June 17th and at Major League ballparks no later than June 24th. online balloting concludes on and the 30 Club Web sites on Thursday, June 29th at 11:59 p.m. (EDT).

Pepsi, which has been the title sponsor of the retail balloting program since 1997, will again be joined by Frito-Lay for 2006 Major League Baseball Retail All-Star Balloting, providing additional exposure for the entire balloting program. Pepsi and Frito-Lay, both divisions of PepsiCo Inc., will distribute over 13 million Major League Baseball All-Star ballots exclusively at more than 3,300 Wal-Mart stores, where balloting began on May 8th and concludes on June 10th across the United States.

The 2006 American League and National League All-Star Teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 2nd with a total of 16 elected starters, as determined by the fan balloting program, and 46 pitchers and reserves, as determined by the player ballot and the two All-Star Team managers - American League manager Ozzie Guillen of the Chicago White Sox and National League manager Phil Garner of the Houston Astros - and Major League Baseball.

Immediately following the announcement of the American League and National League All-Star rosters, fans will have the opportunity to select the final position player for each League's 32-man roster at The 2006 Monster All-Star Final Vote will provide fans the opportunity to cast their votes from a list of five players from each League over a four-day period.

Also, for the second year, fans will be able to vote for their Final Vote selections on their mobile phone. Both winners of the Monster All-Star Final Vote will be announced after the voting has concluded on Thursday, July 6th at 6:00 p.m. (EDT).

The 77th Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pre-game ceremonies beginning at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio will provide exclusive, national radio coverage, while will provide extensive online coverage and MLB Radio will provide exclusive play-by-play coverage of the game on the Internet. XM Satellite Radio will provide satellite radio play-by-play coverage of the XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game.

Remaining announcements will be made on the following dates:

Monday, June 12NL Balloting Release #3
Tuesday, June 13AL Balloting Release #3
Monday, June 19 NL Balloting Release #4
Tuesday, June 20AL Balloting Release #4
Monday, June 26NL Balloting Release #5
Tuesday, June 27AL Balloting Release #5
Sunday, July 2 NL/AL Starters & Reserves Announced

June 6, 2006

First Base
1. David Ortiz, Red Sox631,787
2. Jason Giambi, Yankees433,308
3. Paul Konerko, White Sox295,489
4. Travis Hafner, Indians228,758
5. Chris Shelton, Tigers208,045
Second Base
1. Robinson Cano, Yankees404,416
2. Mark Loretta, Red Sox368,226
3. Tadahito Iguchi, White Sox348,691
4. Placido Polanco, Tigers184,928
5. Brian Roberts, Orioles176,630
Third Base
1. Alex Rodriguez, Yankees731,811
2. Mike Lowell, Red Sox317,803
3. Joe Crede, White Sox236,260
4. Eric Chavez, Athletics227,140
5. Troy Glaus, Blue Jays223,636
1. Derek Jeter, Yankees765,110
2. Miguel Tejada, Orioles526,622
3. Michael Young, Rangers197,386
4. Alex Gonzalez, Red Sox173,307
5. Juan Uribe, White Sox162,875
1. Jason Varitek, Red Sox448,894
2. Ivan Rodriguez, Tigers398,852
3. Jorge Posada, Yankees 337,969
4. A.J. Pierzynski, White Sox256,308
5. Victor Martinez, Indians256,148
1. Vladimir Guerrero, Angels745,397
2. Manny Ramirez, Red Sox738,168
3. Johnny Damon, Yankees529,770
4. Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners413,737
5. Vernon Wells, Blue Jays365,466
6. Gary Sheffield, Yankees360,973
7. Hideki Matsui, Yankees283,312
8. Scott Podsednik, White Sox268,599
9. Jermain Dye, White Sox262,008
10. Coco Crisp, Red Sox248,485
11. Torii Hunter, Twins237,308
12. Trot Nixon, Red Sox233,099
13. Magglio Ordonez, Tigers195,475
14. Grady Sizemore, Indians194,857
15. Jonny Gomes, Devil Rays175,629

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.