PrintPrint © 2006 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

"DHL Presents Major League Baseball Hometown Heroes" winners revealed
10/01/2006 10:04 PM ET
The 30 Major Leaguers selected by fan ballot as the Hometown Heroes of Major League Baseball franchises were revealed this week on a compelling three-part original series, DHL Presents Major League Baseball Hometown Heroes, broadcast on ESPN. Nearly 17 million votes were cast by fans to choose the players they believe most embody the legacy of Major League Baseball and each respective franchise's history. The series, produced by MLB Productions, was the culmination of a fan-participation promotion, of the same name, presented by MLB and DHL, the "Official Express Delivery and Logistics Provider" of Major League Baseball and, to celebrate a player - either past or present - from each of the 30 Major League Baseball franchises whose combination of on-field contributions, character and leadership make him stand out from the rest.

"DHL is a valued and creative partner of MLB and our shared commitment to excellence is reflected in the overwhelming fan response to the Hometown Heroes program," said Tim Brosnan, Executive Vice President, Business, Major League Baseball. "Thanks to the support of DHL, fans everywhere were given the opportunity to celebrate the contributions of some of baseball's greatest players and the rich history that belongs to each Major League franchise."

"This program would not have happened without baseball's great fans, and, on behalf of DHL and its employees, I want to thank them for participating," said Karen Jones, Vice President of Advertising, Brand and Promotions for DHL. "The nearly 17 million votes received further demonstrates the passion they have for the game."

From July 18 through September 17, fans around the world cast votes using a special ballot containing five Hometown Hero nominees from each Major League Baseball franchise. Fans voted in all MLB ballparks; online at, the official Web site of Major League Baseball; via cell phone; and at any of the 1,600 participating DHL Authorized Shipping Centers around the country.

The "DHL Presents Major League Baseball Hometown Heroes" winners unveiled during the original series are:


Arizona DiamondbacksRandy Johnson256,011
Atlanta BravesHank Aaron452,824
Baltimore OriolesCal Ripken Jr.357,667
Boston Red SoxTed Williams350,961
Chicago CubsErnie Banks352,381
Chicago White SoxFrank Thomas218,935
Cincinnati RedsPete Rose294,056
Cleveland Indians Bob Feller303,593
Colorado Rockies Larry Walker196,413
Detroit Tigers Ty Cobb370,471
Florida Marlins Dontrelle Willis203,264
Houston Astros Nolan Ryan355,548
Kansas City Royals George Brett431,346
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Rod Carew317,888
Los Angeles Dodgers Jackie Robinson251,503
Milwaukee Brewers Robin Yount246,642
Minnesota Twins Kirby Puckett276,624
New York Mets Tom Seaver302,383
New York Yankees Babe Ruth298,135
Oakland Athletics Reggie Jackson198,846
Philadelphia Phillies Mike Schmidt358,815
Pittsburgh Pirates Roberto Clemente350,305
San Diego Padres Tony Gwynn393,629
San Francisco Giants Willie Mays447,016
Seattle Mariners Ken Griffey Jr.323,313
St. Louis Cardinals Stan Musial219,220
Tampa Bay Devil Rays Wade Boggs201,414
Texas Rangers Nolan Ryan354,772
Toronto Blue Jays Joe Carter294,791
Washington Nationals Gary Carter249,653

*Cumulative Total Votes From Paper Ballots and Online Voting

Random House, in conjunction with the Major League Baseball Properties Publishing Department, will publish Major League Baseball Hometown Heroes on November 21. The book complements the three-part original series, while also allowing fans to gain an inside look at some of the greatest players of all time. Written and edited by the editors of Major League Baseball, the hardcover will retail for $29.95.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.