PrintPrint © 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

A-Rod, Jeter, Ortiz top AL All-Star balloting results
05/30/2007 3:33 PM ET
New York Yankees teammates Alex Rodriguez and Derek Jeter and Boston Red Sox first baseman David Ortiz are the top three vote-getters in the first set of A.L. All-Star balloting results for the 78th All-Star Game, to be played Tuesday, July 10th at San Francisco's AT&T Park, it was announced today.

Rodriguez, a 10-time A.L. All-Star, has drawn 843,550 votes to jump out to the overall lead among all Major League Baseball players. Rodriguez has the most home runs (19) in baseball this season, along with a .293 batting average and 44 RBI. Rodriguez is followed by Jeter (657,383) and Boston's "Big Papi" (601,770) for the most overall votes. In figures released yesterday, Carlos Beltran of the New York Mets was the National League's top vote-getter with 586,815.

The leading A.L. outfielders are Vladimir Guerrero (578,430) of the Angels, Manny Ramirez (449,372) of the Red Sox and Ichiro Suzuki (362,245) of the Mariners. The tightest A.L. race is at second base, where New York's Robinson Cano (322,994) is edging Placido Polanco (282,251) of the Tigers. Detroit's Ivan Rodriguez (370,322) paces A.L. backstops as he vies for his 12th All-Star election, which would be an all-time record for catchers. Minnesota's Joe Mauer (328,974), Boston's Jason Varitek (301,942) and New York's Jorge Posada (297,928) are not far behind in the crowded race behind the plate. Mauer, a first-time All-Star in 2006, was last year's American League batting champion. Varitek is a two-time All-Star, while Posada, a four-time All-Star, currently leads Major League Baseball with a .360 batting average.

The Major League Baseball All-Star Balloting Program is the largest balloting program in professional sports. The fan balloting program will determine the eight position players from each League who will start the 78th All-Star Game. The fan balloting program will determine the eight position players from each League who will start the 78th All-Star Game. Throughout the balloting period, 21 million ballots will be distributed at the 30 Major League ballparks and an additional 1.7 million ballots will be distributed to 95 Minor League Baseball Clubs that are in-season during the balloting period.

In-stadium balloting at Major League ballparks began no later than May 3rd, while balloting at Minor League ballparks began between May 7th and May 17th. Each Major League Club will have 25 home dates during which it will conduct balloting, while Minor League Clubs will have 15 home dates for balloting. The in-stadium program will conclude at Minor League ballparks by June 16th and at Major League ballparks no later than June 22nd. Instadium balloting at the Rogers Centre in Toronto, sponsored by Rogers Personal TV, began on April 27th and will run through June 16th. Balloting in Puerto Rico, sponsored by DIRECTV, began on May 3rd and will run through June 10th.

Pepsi, Frito-Lay and, for the first time, Quaker - all divisions of PepsiCo Inc. - will distribute 12 million Major League Baseball All-Star ballots exclusively at more than 3,400 Wal-Mart stores, where balloting began on May 13th and will conclude on June 17th across the United States. Pepsi has been the title sponsor of the U.S. retail All- Star balloting program since 1997.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times with the Monster 2007 All-Star Online Ballot at and all 30 Club Web sites until Thursday, June 28th at 11:59 p.m. (EDT). The Monster 2007 All-Star Online Ballot is available in English, Spanish and Japanese.

The 2007 American League and National League All-Star Teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 1st on the 2007 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show presented by Chevrolet, which will be televised nationally on TBS at approximately 4:00 p.m. (EDT), immediately following the 1:00 p.m. (EDT) game between the Atlanta Braves and Florida Marlins. Each All-Star squad will have a total of eight elected starters, as determined by the fan balloting program, and 23 pitchers and reserves, as determined by the "Player Ballot" and the two All-Star Team managers - American League manager Jim Leyland of the Detroit Tigers and National League manager Tony La Russa of the St. Louis Cardinals - in conjunction with Major League Baseball.

Immediately following the announcement of the American League and National League All-Star rosters, fans will have the opportunity to select the final position player for each League's 32-man roster at The Monster 2007 All-Star Final Vote will provide fans the opportunity to cast their votes from a list of five players from each League over a four-day period.

For the third year, fans will be able to vote for their Final Vote selections on their mobile phone. Both winners of the Monster 2007 All-Star Final Vote will be announced after the voting has concluded on Thursday, July 5th. Fans once again will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player presented by Chevrolet at the 78th All-Star Game via the Monster 2007 All-Star Game MVP Vote on

The 78th Major League Baseball All-Star Game, which will decide home-field advantage in the 2007 World Series, will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pregame ceremonies beginning at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage, while will provide extensive online coverage. XM will provide satellite radio play-by-play coverage of the XM All-Star Futures Game.

Other announcements will be released as follows:

Monday, June 4NL Balloting Release #2
Tuesday, June 5AL Balloting Release #2
Monday, June 11NL Balloting Release #3
Tuesday, June 12AL Balloting Release #3
Monday, June 18NL Balloting Release #4
Tuesday, June 19AL Balloting Release #4
Monday, June 25NL Balloting Release #5
Tuesday, June 26AL Balloting Release #5
Sunday, July 1Starters & Reserves Announced

2007 MLB All-Star Balloting : American League
1st Base
1.Ortiz, D.Red Sox601,770
2.Giambi, J.Yankees240,030
3.Morneau, J.Twins221,520
4.Hafner, T.Indians176,364
5.Casey, S.Tigers161,436
2nd Base
1.Cano, R.Yankees322,994
2.Polanco, P.Tigers282,251
3.Kinsler, I.Rangers207,170
4.Upton, B.J.Devil Rays141,720
5.Pedroia, D.Red Sox141,636
1.Jeter, D.Yankees657,383
2.Tejada, M.Orioles228,230
3.Guillen, C.Tigers197,755
4.Lugo, J.Red Sox180,165
5.Young, M.Rangers129,307
3rd Base
1.Rodriguez, A.Yankees843,550
2.Lowell, M.Red Sox238,566
3.Inge, B.Tigers122,149
4.Chavez, E.Athletics96,663
5.Crede, J.White Sox82,598
1.Rodriguez, I.Tigers370,322
2.Mauer, J.Twins328,974
3.Varitek, J.Red Sox301,942
4.Posada, J.Yankees297,928
5.Martinez, V.Indians140,033
1.Guerrero, V.Angels578,430
2.Ramirez, M.Red Sox449,372
3.Suzuki, I.Mariners362,245
4.Hunter, T.Twins278,732
5.Abreu, B.Yankees278,606
6.Damon, J.Yankees267,605
7.Ordonez, M.Tigers261,976
8.Drew, J.D.Red Sox253,472
9.Sizemore, G.Indians249,236
10.Matsui, H.Yankees216,896
11.Sosa, S.Rangers195,549
12.Crisp, C.Red Sox178,152
13.Sheffield, G.Tigers175,849
14.Crawford, C.Devil Rays147,912
15.Wells, V.Blue Jays144,923
Results updated: Tuesday, May 29, 2007

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.