PrintPrint © 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

2011 First-Year Player Draft Order Announced
04/14/2011 12:27 PM ET

For the third consecutive year, Major League Baseball will hold day one festivities of the First-Year Player Draft from Studio 42 at MLB Network in Secaucus, New Jersey. The Draft will begin live on MLB Network and on Monday, June 6th at 7:00 p.m. (ET). Prior to the start of the Draft, MLB Network will air a Draft preview show, also simulcast on, at 6:00 p.m. (ET).

The selection order of the First-Year Player Draft is determined by the reverse order of finish at the close of the previous championship season. Compensation picks have been assigned to Clubs whose Type A or Type B free agents signed with other Clubs and/or to Clubs that did not sign a player who was chosen in the first three rounds of the 2010 First-Year Player Draft. The Pittsburgh Pirates will have the first overall selection of the 2011 Draft, the third time in the Club's history it has the top choice and the first time since 2002. The Tampa Bay Rays have the most first round selections with three (24th, 31st and 32nd overall) and possess 10 of the first 60 overall picks. The Arizona Diamondbacks (3rd and 7th), Washington Nationals (6th and 23rd), San Diego Padres (10th and 25th), Milwaukee Brewers (12th and 15th) and Boston Red Sox (19th and 26th) also hold multiple first round choices.

Last year's first round choices included the Washington Nationals' top overall selection Bryce Harper, who batted .343 with a home run and seven RBI in nine Arizona Fall League contests in 2010, and Chicago White Sox left-handed reliever Chris Sale, the 13th overall pick, who became the first player from the 2010 Draft class to reach the Majors with his debut on August 6, 2010.

The Draft will have 50 rounds and will conclude after all 30 teams have passed on a selection or after the final selection of the 50th round, whichever comes first.

Like each of the previous two years, the 2011 Draft will span three days. For day one on June 6th, MLB Network and will provide live pick-by-pick coverage during the first round as well as the first compensation round. The intervals between selections will last five minutes during the first round and one minute during the compensation round. The Draft will resume at 12:00 p.m. (ET) on both Tuesday, June 7th and Wednesday, June 8th via conference call from MLB headquarters in New York City.

Continuing coverage at the start of day two, will deliver exclusive live programming of the Draft's final two days, including a live pick-by-pick stream, draft and scouting expert commentary and DraftCaster, a live interactive application that includes a searchable database of every draft-eligible player supplemented by statistics, scouting reports and video highlights.

Once again, each of the 30 Major League Clubs will be represented at the Draft by one of its former players and/or a member of its front office. Last year's representatives included Hall of Famers Tommy Lasorda and Frank Robinson, as well as 2011 Hall of Fame Inductee Roberto Alomar. The Club representatives who will attend the 2011 Draft will be announced in the weeks ahead.

Official Order of Selection - 2011 First-Year Player Draft
1 Pittsburgh Pirates34 Washington Nationals (Dunn - CWS)61 Pittsburgh Pirates91 Pittsburgh Pirates122 Pittsburgh Pirates
2 Seattle Mariners35 Toronto Blue Jays (Downs - LAA)62 Seattle Mariners92 Seattle Mariners123 Seattle Mariners
3 Arizona Diamondbacks36 Boston Red Sox (V. Martinez - DET)63 Arizona Diamondbacks93 Arizona Diamondbacks124 Arizona Diamondbacks
4 Baltimore Orioles37 Texas Rangers (Lee - PHI)64 Baltimore Orioles94 Baltimore Orioles125 Baltimore Orioles
5 Kansas City Royals38 Tampa Bay Rays (R. Soriano - NYY)65 Kansas City Royals95 Kansas City Royals126 Kansas City Royals
6 Washington Nationals39 Philadelphia Phillies (Werth - WSH)66 Philadelphia Phillies (Werth - WSH)96 Washington Nationals127 Washington Nationals
7 Arizona Diamondbacks (Loux)40 Boston Red Sox (Beltre - TEX)67 Cleveland Indians97 Cleveland Indians128 Cleveland Indians
8 Cleveland Indians41 Tampa Bay Rays (Crawford - BOS)68 Chicago Cubs98 Chicago Cubs129 Chicago Cubs
9 Chicago Cubs42 Tampa Bay Rays (Balfour - OAK)69 Houston Astros99 Houston Astros130 Houston Astros
10 San Diego Padres (Whitson)43 Arizona Diamondbacks (LaRoche - WSH)70 Milwaukee Brewers100 Milwaukee Brewers131 Milwaukee Brewers
11 Houston Astros44 New York Mets (Feliciano - NYY)71 New York Mets101 New York Mets132 New York Mets
12 Milwaukee Brewers45 Colorado Rockies (Dotel - TOR)72 Florida Marlins102 Florida Marlins133 Florida Marlins
13 New York Mets46 Toronto Blue Jays (Buck - FLA)73 Los Angeles Dodgers103 Los Angeles Dodgers134 Los Angeles Dodgers
14 Florida Marlins47 Chicago White Sox (Putz - ARI)74 Toronto Blue Jays (Downs - LAA)104 Los Angeles Angels135 Los Angeles Angels
15 Milwaukee Brewers (Covey)48 San Diego Padres (Garland - LA)75 Tampa Bay Rays (Balfour - OAK)105 Oakland Athletics136 Oakland Athletics
16 Los Angeles Dodgers49 San Francisco Giants (Uribe - LA)76 Detroit Tigers106 Detroit Tigers137 Detroit Tigers
17 Los Angeles Angels50 Minnesota Twins (Hudson - SD)77 Colorado Rockies107 Colorado Rockies138 Colorado Rockies
18 Oakland Athletics51 New York Yankees (Vazquez - FLA)78 Toronto Blue Jays108 Toronto Blue Jays139 Toronto Blue Jays
19 Boston Red Sox (V. Martinez- DET)52 Tampa Bay Rays (Hawpe - SD)79 St. Louis Cardinals109 St. Louis Cardinals140 St. Louis Cardinals
20 Colorado Rockies53 Toronto Blue Jays (Gregg - BAL)80 Chicago White Sox110 Chicago White Sox141 Chicago White Sox
21 Toronto Blue Jays54 San Diego Padres (Torrealba - TEX)81 Boston Red Sox111 Boston Red Sox142 Boston Red Sox
22 St. Louis Cardinals55 Minnesota Twins (Crain - CWS)82 San Diego Padres112 San Diego Padres143 San Diego Padres
23 Washington Nationals (Dunn - CWS)56 Tampa Bay Rays (Benoit - DET)83 Texas Rangers113 Texas Rangers144 Texas Rangers
24 Tampa Bay Rays (Crawford - BOS)57 Toronto Blue Jays (Olivo - SEA)84 Cincinnati Reds114 Cincinnati Reds145 Cincinnati Reds
25 San Diego Padres58 San Diego Padres (Correia - PIT)85 Atlanta Braves115 Atlanta Braves146 Atlanta Braves
26 Boston Red Sox (Beltre - TEX)59 Tampa Bay Rays (Choate - FLA)86 San Francisco Giants116 San Francisco Giants147 San Francisco Giants
27 Cincinnati Reds60 Tampa Bay Rays (Qualls - SD)87 Minnesota Twins117 Minnesota Twins148 Minnesota Twins
28 Atlanta Braves 88 New York Yankees118 New York Yankees149 New York Yankees
29 San Francisco Giants 89 Tampa Bay Rays119 Tampa Bay Rays150 Tampa Bay Rays
30 Minnesota Twins 90 Philadelphia Phillies120 Philadelphia Phillies151 Philadelphia Phillies
31 Tampa Bay Rays (R. Soriano - NYY)  COMPENSATION ROUND B
32 Tampa Bay Rays  121 Seattle Mariners (Stanek)
33 Texas Rangers (Lee - PHI)   

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.