PrintPrint © 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Participants in 2011 State Farm Home Run Derby announced
07/05/2011 6:57 PM ET
Major League Baseball today announced the eight All-Stars who will compete in the 2011 State Farm Home Run Derby on Monday, July 11th at Chase Field in Phoenix.

The two most recent champions of the event, David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox and Prince Fielder of the Milwaukee Brewers, will serve as the captains for the American League and the National League, respectively. The 2011 State Farm Home Run Derby will take place on Monday, July 11th at Chase Field in Phoenix at 8:00 p.m. Eastern/5:00 p.m. Pacific and will be televised nationally on ESPN.

Ortiz (.301, 17 HR, 49 RBI) and Fielder (.299, 21 HR, 69 RBI) each determined the other three participants on their teams and personally extended the invitations as part of a new Derby format featuring a team competition between the American League and National League.

Representing the host National League along with Fielder, the 2009 Derby winner in St. Louis, will be his teammate, Brewers second baseman Rickie Weeks (.277, 15 HR, 34 RBI); St. Louis Cardinals outfielder Matt Holliday (.316, 10 HR, 40 RBI); and Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Matt Kemp, who is tied for the National League lead with 22 home runs and has an N.L.-best .611 slugging percentage. Ortiz was the champion of the 2010 Derby in Anaheim and has 68 total home runs in four previous Derby appearances (2004-06, 2010), which is tied for second-most all-time behind Ken Griffey, Jr.'s 74 homers.

Joining "Big Papi" will be his teammate, Red Sox first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, who holds the American League's top marks with a .348 batting average and 75 RBI, along with 16 homers; Toronto Blue Jays outfielder/third baseman Jose Bautista, the Major League leader with both 27 home runs and a .679 slugging percentage; and New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano (.294, 14 HR, 54 RBI).

In addition to being Ortiz's fifth career Derby, this will mark the third for both Fielder (2007, 2009) and Holliday (2007, 2010); the second for Gonzalez (2009); and the first for Bautista, Cano, Kemp and Weeks.

As captains, both Fielder and Ortiz will select a charity for which they will be hitting during the Derby. State Farm and Major League Baseball will donate a significant amount of money for charity through the event.

The donations will be made as follows:

• $150,000 will be awarded to the winning captain's charity in his name
• $100,000 will be awarded to Boys & Girls Club of America (BGCA) in the name of the winning captain
• $25,000 will be awarded to the charity of the captain of the losing team in his name
• The remainder will be donated to BGCA on behalf of State Farm and MLB

The total amount of money distributed will be determined by the home runs hit during the competition. State Farm and MLB will combine to donate $18,000 for every home run hit with a Gold Ball during the competition. The dollar figure was selected to coincide with the number of State Farm agents throughout the U.S. and Canada. State Farm will also give $3,000 to BGCA for every non-Gold Ball hit during the Derby. Both Fielder and Ortiz have been supporters of BGCA, including participating in public service announcements.

While the format to determine the individual champion will remain unchanged, the total number of home runs hit by all players in all rounds will be tabulated for the A.L. and N.L. to determine the winning team, captain and charity recipient. Each player will get 10 outs per round, the four players with the highest total of home runs will advance to the second round, and the two players with the highest cumulative number of home runs in the first two rounds will advance to the Championship Round, where first and second round home runs do not carry over for individual scores.

In addition to coverage on ESPN, the 2011 State Farm Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN HD, ESPN 3D, ESPN Deportes,, ESPN Mobile TV, and ESPN Radio in the U.S. as well as ESPN International beginning at 8:00 p.m. Eastern/5:00 p.m. Pacific on Monday, July 11th. For more information, please visit or

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.