PrintPrint © 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Fan voting continues surge; tightening AL and NL races in final hours of 2011 All-Star Game Final Vote sponsored by Sprint
07/07/2011 9:38 AM ET

It happens every year. The momentum created by creative campaigning and fan support sparks a late flurry of frenzied online voting over the final 24 hours of the All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Sprint (#FinalVote) and this year's balloting at is no different. Tightened American and National League races have left the leads by Paul Konerko of the Chicago White Sox and Shane Victorino of the Philadelphia Phillies in question with only hours left to cast votes. Fans can follow @MLB on Twitter throughout the day for any up-to-the-moment voting updates in advance of the 4:00 p.m. (EDT) balloting deadline.

Konerko, who is vying for his first Final Vote victory, is trying to hold off a rally from Victor Martinez while the 2009 Final Vote winner Victorino, who has not played since Sunday due to injury, seeks to become the first two-time winner, beating back late challenges from both Andre Ethier and Todd Helton.

Here are the complete standings:

American League

  1. Paul Konerko (CWS) - #PaulStar
  2. Victor Martinez (DET) - #VictorVictorino
  3. Alex Gordon (KC) - #VoteAlex
  4. Adam Jones (BAL) - #VoteAdam
  5. Ben Zobrist (TB) - #helpZogo

National League

  1. Shane Victorino (PHI) - #VictorVictorino
  2. Andre Ethier (LAD) - #VoteAndre
  3. Todd Helton (COL) - #VoteHelton
  4. Mike Morse (WAS) - #VoteMorse
  5. Ian Kennedy (ARI) - #VoteIanIn

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.