PrintPrint © 2012

Man of the Year finalists announced
09/17/2012 3:14 PM ET
Adam Jones, Chipper Jones, Paul Konerko, Skip Schumaker, Michael Young and Barry Zito are the finalists for the 2012 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award.

The players were selected last week by fans in online balloting to represent each of their respective divisions and will appear on the ballot Sept. 19, when players conduct their annual Players Choice Awards voting at ballparks across the country.

The Marvin Miller Man of the Year, one of two awards for which players in both leagues vote, is given to the player who most inspires other players to a higher level of achievement both on and off the field.

Young has won the award twice previously, in 2008 and 2011.

During balloting on Sept. 19, players across both leagues will also select an overall Player of the Year, and within their leagues they will choose an outstanding player, pitcher and rookie as well as a comeback player.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.