To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Carl R. Pohlad Award

The Carl R. Pohlad Award recognizes outstanding community involvement and on-field performance of one current Twins player or coach each season. The winner receives $5,000 from the Twins Community Fund to be granted to the charity of their choice.

2016 Winner: Eduardo Escobar

  • Escobar looks to positively influence youth in his home country of Venezuela, as well in his adopted home of Minneapolis. In Venezuela, Escobar has created a foundation to give children in need access to food, clothes and sporting equipment. He also puts on baseball clinics for youth.
  • Escobar has created a ticket program to give free tickets to Spanish-speaking students to schools in the Twin Cities. Students from these schools attend Twins games and meet Escobar prior to the game. Escobar also visits predominantly Spanish-speaking schools during the Twins season. He talks to them about his life, the importance of education and how he came to America not knowing English, but has worked hard to learn the language. He models the success that these youth can hope to achieve.
  • In 2016, Escobar created a fundraiser to raise money for the I Love Venezuela Foundation with the goal of assisting children there. The Labor Day party on the Budweiser Roof Deck sold out in 2016 and raised more than $10,000 for the charity.
  • Escobar also serves as a spokesman for the Muscular Dystrophy Association appearing in their Make a Muscle campaign.
  • Escobar also participates in fundraisers such as TwinsFest, helping to raise more than $280,000 annually for the Twins Community Fund, which benefits youth baseball and softball. He also participate in events of Hope Week, which seek to touch the lives of those most in need by lifting up their spirts for at least one day.

Past Winners:

  • 2015 - Brian Dozier
  • 2014 - Brian Duensing
  • 2013 - Glen Perkins
  • 2012 - Denard Span
  • 2011 - Carl Pavano
  • 2010 - Jesse Crain
  • 2009 - Justin Morneau
  • 2008 - Joe Mauer
  • 2007 - Johan Santana
  • 2006 - Michael Cuddyer
  • 2005 - Ron Gardenhire
  • 2004 - Torii Hunter
  • 2003 - Doug Mientkiewicz
  • 2002 - Brad Radke
  • 2001 - Corey Koskie
  • 2000 - Denny Hocking
  • 1999 - Ron Coomer
  • 1998 - Terry Steinbach
  • 1997 - Rick Aguilera
  • 1996 - Paul Molitor
  • 1995 - Kirby Puckett
  • 1994 - Kent Hrbek
  • 1993 - Brian Harper