To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

2003 winner: Barry Bonds, SF
Bonds wins sixth NL MVP Award
Barry Bonds captured his record sixth National League Most Valuable Player Award and unprecedented third in a row, beating out St. Louis' Albert Pujols by a 426-303 point margin. The Giants outfielder received 28 of 32 first-place votes. More >

2003 winner: Alex Rodriguez, TEX
Rodriguez wins AL MVP Award
Alex Rodriguez won the American League Most Valuable Player Award for the first time in his career, capping a season in which he led the AL in home runs with 47, runs with 124 and slugging percentage at .600. More >

2003 winner: Roy Halladay, TOR
Cy completes Halladay's turnaround
Two years after having to return to the low minors to make himself over as a pitcher, Roy Halladay is the AL Cy Young Award winner. Halladay, who won 22 games and pitched nine complete games, is the fourth winner from the Blue Jays in the last eight seasons. More >

2003 winner: Eric Gagne, LA
Game over: Gagne wins Cy Young
Dodger closer Eric Gagne was named winner of the 2003 National League Cy Young Award by the BBWAA, snapping Randy Johnson's four-year stranglehold on the award. Gagne became the first Dodger to win the Cy since Orel Hershiser in 1988 and the first reliever since Oakland's Dennis Eckersley in 1992. More >

2003 winner: Angel Berroa, KC
Angel in the infield: Berroa tops in AL
In the closest voting since the 5-3-1 voting system was adopted in 1980, Kansas City's Angel Berroa beat out New York's Hideki Matsui by four points for American League Rookie of the Year. Among rookies who have hit at least .280 with 15 homers and 20 steals, Berroa had the fifth-best totals since 1900 with his .287 batting mark, 17 homers and 21 steals. More >

2003 winner: Dontrelle Willis, FLA
Willis caps dream season with rookie award
Fourteen wins, an All-Star appearance, a World Series championship and now the National League Rookie of the Year. Not a bad season for 21-year-old Dontrelle Willis, the Marlins lefty who picked up the top rookie honor. After being called up from Double-A at the end of May, Willis went 5-0 with a 1.04 ERA in June, earning NL Pitcher of the Month honors. More >

2003 winner: Tony Peña, KC
Peña recognized for 2003 success
Royals skipper Tony Peña, who engineered a 21-game improvement over last season, picked up 24 first-place votes to win the 2003 American League Manager of the Year Award in a landslide. More >

2003 winner: Jack McKeon, FLA
McKeon named NL's top manager
Florida manager Jack McKeon defied the odds by pulling off one of the most stunning turnarounds for a franchise in decades as his Wild Card-winning Marlins upset the Yankees in the World Series. His miraculous year was capped off when the BBWAA honored him as National League Manager of the Year. More >
Jump to an award: