To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Bonds wins sixth NL MVP Award
Barry Bonds captured his record sixth National League Most Valuable Player Award and unprecedented third in a row, beating out St. Louis' Albert Pujols by a 426-303 point margin. The Giants outfielder received 28 of 32 first-place votes. More >
Bonds highlights: 56K | 300K
Rodriguez wins AL MVP Award
Alex Rodriguez won the American League Most Valuable Player Award for the first time in his career Monday, capping a season in which he led the AL in home runs with 47, runs with 124 and slugging percentage at .600. More >
A-Rod highlights: 56K | 300K

^ Rodriguez
Player 1st Total
^ Bonds
Player 1st Total
Rodriguez 6 242 Bonds 28 426
Delgado 5 213 Pujols 3 303
Posada 5 194 Sheffield 1 247
Stewart 3 140 Thome - 203
Ortiz 4 130 Lopez - 159
Ramirez 1 100 Gagne - 143
Garciaparra 1 99 Helton - 75
2002 winners:   AL: Miguel Tejada, OAK    NL: Barry Bonds, SF    All-time winners >
MVP Award: A History
In the first BBWAA election, the Most Valuable Player was actually a pitcher, Lefty Grove (far left), who went 31-4, with a 2.06 ERA in an extreme hitter's year. In an endorsement of leadership and hustle, 32 year-old Frankie Frisch took the award in the NL for his contributions to the pennant winning Cardinals' 101-win season. More>

Jump to an award:
Most Valuable Player