To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content

2011 Civil Rights Game

MLB Beacon Awards™ Banquet

Each year the MLB Beacon Awards are presented to three individuals who through their life's work have left an indelible mark on society.

In addition to the Beacon Awards, special tributes are also made to people whose actions are the foundation of what the civil rights movement stands for.

The 2010 award recipients were Willie Mays, Billie Jean King and Harry Belafonte. The 2010 keynote speaker was former Congressman and U.S. Ambassador Andrew Young.

Other notable keynote speakers include President Bill Clinton, NAACP Chair Julian Bond and Rev. Joseph Lowery. Past recipients include Vera Clemente, Spike Lee, Buck O'Neil, John H. Johnson, Ruby Dee, Muhammad Ali, Bill Cosby, and Baseball Hall of Famers Frank Robinson and Hank Aaron.

2011 MLB Beacon Awards Honorees
Carlos Santana
Carlos Santana

The Beacon of Change
is given to someone who alters societal and cultural views.

Morgan Freeman
Morgan Freeman

The Beacon of Hope
is presented to someone who impacts the future of society through his or her work and support of youth.

Ernie Banks
Ernie Banks

The Beacon of Life
is awarded to an individual whose life has been emblematic of the spirit of the civil rights movement.