To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content

2012 Civil Rights Game

MLB Beacon Awards™ Banquet

Each year, the MLB Beacon Awards are presented to three individuals who through their life's work have left an indelible mark on society.

In addition to the Beacon Awards, special tributes are also made to people whose actions are the foundation of what the civil rights movement stands for.

The 2011 award recipients were musician Carlos Santana, actor Morgan Freeman and former Chicago Cubs shortstop and first baseman, Ernie Banks.

The 2012 Beacon Awards will be held Sat., Aug. 18, from 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. ET at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta, Ga.

Buy Tickets
2012 MLB Beacon Awards Honorees
Carlos Santana
Don Newcombe

The Beacon of Hope
is given to someone who is an inspiration for youth.

Morgan Freeman
Earth, Wind and Fire

The Beacon of Change
is given to someone who alters societal and cultural views.

Ernie Banks
John Lewis

The Beacon of Life
is awarded to an individual whose life has been emblematic of the spirit of the civil rights movement.