To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content Below is an advertisement.

First-Year Player Draft History

No. 1 overall picks
 Year Player Team
 2018 Casey Mize, rhp Tigers
 2017 Royce Lewis, ss Twins
 2016 Mickey Moniak, of Philadelphia
 2015 Dansby Swanson, ss Arizona
 2014 Brady Aiken, lhp Houston (didn't sign)
 2013 Mark Appel, rhp Houston
 2012 Carlos Correa, ss Houston
 2011 Gerrit Cole, rhp Pittsburgh
 2010 Bryce Harper, of Washington
 2009 Stephen Strasburg, rhp Washington
 2008 Tim Beckham, ss Tampa Bay
 2007 David Price, lhp Tampa Bay
 2006 Luke Hochevar, rhp Kansas City
 2005 Justin Upton, ss Arizona
 2004 Matthew Bush, ss San Diego
 2003 Delmon Young, rf Tampa Bay
 2002 Bryan Bullington, rhp Pittsburgh
 2001 Joe Mauer, c Minnesota
 2000 Adrian Gonzalez, 1b Florida
 1999 Josh Hamilton, of Tampa Bay
 1998 Pat Burrell, inf Philadelphia
 1997 Matt Anderson, p Detroit
 1996 Kris Benson, p Pittsburgh
 1995 Darin Erstad, of-p California
 1994 Paul Wilson, p New York (N)
 1993 Alex Rodriguez, ss Seattle
 1992 Phil Nevin, 3b Houston
 1991 Brien Taylor, p New York (A)
 1990 Chipper Jones, ss Atlanta
 1989 Ben McDonald, p Baltimore
 1988 Andy Benes, p San Diego
 1987 Ken Griffey Jr., of Seattle
 1986 Jeff King, if Pittsburgh
 1985 B.J. Surhoff, c Milwaukee
 1984 Shawn Abner, of New York (N)
 1983 Tim Belcher, p Minnesota
 1982 Shawon Dunston, ss Chicago (N)
 1981 Mike Moore, p Seattle
 1980 Darryl Strawberry, of New York (N)
 1979 Al Chambers, of Seattle
 1978 Bob Horner, 3b Atlanta
 1977 Harold Baines, of Chicago (A)
 1976 Floyd Bannister, p Houston
 1975 Danny Goodwin, c California
 1974 Bill Almon, if San Diego
 1973 David Clyde, p Texas
 1972 Dave Roberts, if San Diego
 1971 Danny Goodwin, c Chicago (A)
 1970 Mike Ivie, c San Diego
 1969 Jeff Burroughs, of Washington
 1968 Tim Foli, if New York (N)
 1967 Ron Blomberg, 1b New York (A)
 1966 Steve Chilcott, c New York (N)
 1965 Rick Monday, c Kansas City A's