To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
All-Star Results - 1990

Game 61
July 10, 1990

 Wrigley Field, Chicago Game Final 
  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 R H E
 American 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0   2 7 0
 National 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0   0 2 1
  W: Jeff Brantley
  MVP: Julio Franco, TEX (AL)
Pitchers: Eckersley (9) vs Armstrong, R. Martinez (3), D. Martinez (4), Viola (5), D. Smith (6), BRANTLEY (6), Dibble (7), Myers (8), Franco (9)
Home Runs: None.
Attendance: 39,071

Game Recap

Wrigley Field, the last bastion of daytime baseball, hosted its third All-Star Game and its first under lights. The American League won its third in a row, as its pitchers, led by Bob Welch, surrendered just two hits.

American League
  Sandy Alomar
George Bell
  Wade Boggs
Ellis Burks*
  Jose Canseco
Roger Clemens+
  Dennis Eckersley
Cecil Fielder
  Chuck Finley
Julio Franco
  Ken Griffey
Kelly Gruber
  Ozzie Guillen
Rickey Henderson
  Brook Jacoby
Randy Johnson+
  Doug Jones+
Mark McGwire
  Gregg Olson+
Dave Parker+
  Lance Parrish
Kirby Puckett
  Cal Ripken
Bret Saberhagen
  Steve Sax
Dave Stieb
  Bobby Thigpen
Alan Trammell
  Bob Welch
National League
  Hank Aaron
Roberto Alomar
  Jack Armstrong
Barry Bonds
  Bobby Bonilla
Jeff Brantley
  Will Clark
Andre Dawson
  Rob Dibble
Shawon Dunston
  Lenny Dykstra
John Franco
  Tony Gwynn
Neal Heaton+
  Barry Larkin
Dennis Martinez
  Ramon Martinez
Kevin Mitchell
  Randy Myers
Greg Olson
  Chris Sabo
Ryne Sandberg
  Benito Santiago*
Mike Scioscia
  Dave Smith
Ozzie Smith
  Darryl Strawberry
Frank Viola
  Tim Wallach
Matt Williams

* Named to team but replaced due to injury
+ Did not enter game

The Texas Rangers' Julio Franco is congratulated by his American League teammates after the All-Star Game in Chicago on July 11, 1990. Franco's double in the seventh inning drove in the American League's only two runs. Franco was named MVP.