To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Former Cubs wait for call from Hall
Below is an advertisement.
01/06/2003 12:53 PM ET 
Former Cubs wait for call from Hall
Sandberg, Dawson, Sutter and Smith on ballot
Vote now for the 2003 All-Star game

Hall of Fame 2003

Induction Ceremony
Sunday, July 27
Cooperstown, New York

The inductees
Gary Carter | Eddie Murray

Schedule of weekend events
Complete coverage

CHICAGO -- Ryne Sandberg, Lee Smith, Bruce Sutter and Andre Dawson will find out Tuesday whether they'll make a trip to Cooperstown this summer.

The Hall of Fame will announce the 2003 inductees at 1 p.m. CT Tuesday. The four former Chicago Cubs players were on the ballot, which is voted on by 10-year members of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Sandberg and Smith are among the 17 first-time entries, and each must receive 75 percent of the vote to gain entrance. The induction ceremonies will be July 27 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Sandberg has the best chance. He ended his career with a .989 fielding percentage, the highest career mark at his position.


trade   Former Cubs in the Hall of Fame

There are 41 players with links to the Cubs currently in the Hall of Fame. Here's the list and the year each player was inducted:

Grover Cleveland Alexander, 1938
Cap Anson, 1939
Richie Ashburn, 1995
Ernie Banks, 1977
Roger Bresnahan, 1945
Lou Brock, 1985
Mordecai Brown, 1949
Lou Boudreau, 1970
Frank Chance, 1946
John Clarkson, 1963
Kiki Cuyler, 1968
Dizzy Dean, 1953
Hugh Duffy, 1945
Leo Durocher, 1994
Johnny Evers, 1946
Jimmie Foxx, 1951
Frankie Frisch, 1947
Clark C. Griffith, 1946
Burleigh Grimes, 1964
Gabby Hartnett, 1955
Billy Herman, 1975
Rogers Hornsby, 1942
William Hulbert, 1995
Monte Irvin, 1973
Ferguson Jenkins, 1991
George Kelly, 1973
King Kelly, 1945
Ralph Kiner, 1975
Chuck Klein, 1980
Tony Lazzeri, 1991
Fred Lindstrom, 1976
Rabbit Maranville, 1954
Joseph McCarthy, 1957
Robin Roberts, 1976
Frank Selee, 1999
A.G. Spalding, 1939
Joe Tinker, 1946
Rube Waddell, 1946
Hoyt Wilhelm, 1985
Billy Williams, 1987
Hack Wilson, 1979

A 10-time National League All-Star, he was the league's top vote-getter three times (1990-92) and won nine consecutive Gold Gloves at second base. When Sandberg retired after the 1997 season, he had a career .285 average, 282 homers and 1,061 RBIs.

"I've been hearing this talk since the late '80s, early '90s that (getting into the Hall) was a possibility," Sandberg said in a recent interview. "The last few years, it's one of the first things that people say to me when they come up to me. They'll say, 'When is it?' or 'How many years do you have to be out of the game?' - all the questions.

"I've gotten a lot of 'good lucks' and all the things that go with it," he said.

Smith began his career with the Cubs in 1980. The all-time saves leader with 478, Smith saved 33 games in 1984 to help the Cubs win the National League East. The 6-foot 6-inch, slow-moving, hard-throwing right-hander had a 3.65 ERA that season.

Sutter, master of the split-finger pitch, played from 1976-80 with the Cubs and had a spectacular '77 season in which he went 7-3 with a 1.34 ERA and 31 saves.

Dawson joined the Cubs under odd circumstances, offering a blank check contract in 1987. He signed for $500,000 and then won National League MVP honors by hitting 49 home runs and driving in 137 runs. The right fielder, who was worshipped by Wrigley Field bleacher fans before Sammy Sosa, has a career .279 average and 438 home runs.

Former Cub third baseman Ron Santo is on the Veterans Committee ballot and will find out Feb. 26 whether he'll be enshrined in the Hall.

Santo was currently rehabbing from his second leg amputation in a year. On Dec. 20, the WGN broadcaster's left leg was amputated below the knee because of complications with diabetes. In December 2001, he had his right leg amputated below the knee.

The last person inducted into the Hall with Cub connections was Frank Selee, who was the team's manager and architect of the famous Tinker to Evers to Chance double play combination. Selee, who had a .598 winning percentage during his 16 years as a manager from 1890-1905, was selected by the Veteran's Committee and inducted in 1999.

Ferguson Jenkins was the last player inducted into the Hall wearing a Cubs cap. The right-handed pitcher, who was a 20-game winner seven times, was enshrined in 1991.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for This story was not subject to approval by Major League Baseball or its clubs.

More Coverage
Related Links
MLB Headlines