To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Braves postseason history
Below is an advertisement.
09/28/2003  7:23 PM ET 
Braves postseason history
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
1914 -- Braves over Philadelphia in the World Series, 4-0
Manager George Stallings led his "Miracle Braves" out of the cellar in July and to the franchise's first ever pennant. After winning the first two games of the World Series against Connie Mack's Philadelphia Athletics, Stallings told the hotel in Philadelphia to cancel their reservations for the final two games of the Series. "We won't be coming back," Stallings said. The Braves went on to win the next two games and claim the franchise's first World Championship.

1948 -- Cleveland over Braves in the World Series, 4-2
After a 34-year drought, the team finally made its next appearance in the World Series. Johnny Sain outdueled the Indians' Bob Feller in the 1-0 opening game win and Warren Spahn got the Braves only other win in the Series' fifth game (also against Feller). Spahn's two-inning relief effort in Game 6 went for naught as the Indians took the Series in six games.

1957 -- Braves over New York Yankees in World Series, 4-3
Lew Burdette tossed 24 consecutive scoreless innings and claimed three wins in the World Series against Casey Stengel's Yankees. Warren Spahn, who won Game 3, came down with the flu and was unable to pitch Game 7. Thus, Burdette came back on two days' rest and tossed a shutout to give the franchise its second World Series title.

1958 -- New York Yankees over Braves in World Series, 4-3
For the second year in a row, the Braves faced the Yankees in the World Series. But after gaining a 3-1 advantage, the Braves watched the Yankees come back and claim the championship. Warren Spahn claimed two of the team's victories and Game 7 loser, Lew Burdette, won the other.

1969 -- New York Mets over Braves in NLCS, 3-0
In the first year of League Championship Series play, the Braves were swept in three games by the "Miracle Mets." Phil Niekro allowed the Mets five runs in the eighth inning of Game 1 and Nolan Ryan provided seven relief innings in Game 3 to lead the Mets to the World Series.

1982 -- St. Louis over Braves in NLCS, 3-0
First-year manager Joe Torre led the franchise to its second LCS since moving to Atlanta in 1966. The Cardinals swept the Braves in three games on their way to a World Series title. Dale Murphy, the 1982 NL MVP, had three hits in 11 at-bats and did not provide an RBI in the series.

1991 -- Minnesota over Braves in World Series, 4-3
Manager Bobby Cox led the team from a worst to first finish and the franchise's first World Series berth since 1958. Steve Avery's 16 1/3 scoreless innings and John Smoltz's six-hit shutout in Game 7 allowed the Braves to eliminate the Pirates in the NLCS. The Twins ended the Braves' championship hopes with thrilling extra-inning victories in Games 6 and 7 of the World Series.

1992 -- Toronto over Braves in World Series, 4-2
Francisco Cabrera's ninth-inning, two-out single scored a sliding Sid Bream with the winning run in Game 7 of the NLCS against the Pirates. But the Braves suffered four one-run defeats to the Blue Jays in the World Series to end their championship hopes. Deion Sanders hit .533 (8-for-15) with five stolen bases for the Braves in the World Series.

1993 -- Philadelphia over Braves in NLCS, 4-2
After making a miraculous second-half run to claim the NL West title on the regular season's final day, the Braves ran out of gas and dropped the NLCS to the Phillies in six games. Fred McGriff, the team's key acquisition midway through the season, hit .435 during in NLCS.

1995 -- Braves over Cleveland in World Series, 4-2
After beating the Rockies in the Division Series, the Braves swept the Reds in the NLCS (only four-game sweep in NLCS history) to advance to their third World Series of the decade. David Justice's eighth-inning solo homer against the Indians proved to be enough for Tom Glavine to earn the win in the clinching Game 6 of the World Series. Glavine, who won Games 2 and 6 by limiting the Indians potent offense to four hits in 14 innings, was named the Series MVP.

1996 -- New York Yankees over Braves in World Series, 4-2
The Braves advanced to the World Series once again after disposing of the Dodgers in the Division Series and the Cardinals in the NLCS. They had to overcome a 3-1 deficit against the Cards to visit the World Series for the fourth time in the decade. After taking the first two games in the World Series, the Braves lost the next four (three at Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium) to the Yankees. Andruw Jones, then 19, hit two homers in Game 1 to become the youngest player ever to homer in the Fall Classic. Jim Leyritz's eighth-inning, game-tying, three-run homer off Mark Wohlers in Game 4 changed the momentum in the Series.

1997 -- Florida over Braves in NLCS, 4-2
The Braves were eliminated in the NLCS by the Marlins. Livan Hernandez beat the Braves twice in the six-game series. The Braves advanced to the NLCS with a three-game sweep of the Astros in the Division Series.

1998 -- San Diego over Braves in NLCS, 4-2
After sweeping the Cubs in the Division Series, the Braves' season ended with a six-game loss to the Padres in the NLCS. The Padres took the first two games at Turner Field and the Braves ensured more baseball in Atlanta by winning two of three in San Diego. But the Braves' attempted comeback was ended in Game 6 when NLCS MVP Sterling Hitchcock and four relievers shut the Braves out in a 5-0 win.

1999 -- NY Yankees over Braves in World Series, 4-0
The Division Series against the Astros and NLCS against the Mets might be remembered as two of the most dramatic series. Kevin Millwood's one-hitter in Game 2 of the Division Series got the team rolling and allowed them to take the series in four games. Walt Weiss's diving stab on a Tony Eusebio bases-loaded liner in the 10th inning of Game 3 will be remembered as one of the greatest defensive plays in postseason history. After disposing of the Astros, the Braves needed an 11-inning win over the Mets in Game 6 to claim the series in six games. The Yankees ended the Braves championship hopes by sweeping them in the World Series.

2000 -- St. Louis over Braves in Division Series, 3-0
The Cardinals swept the Braves in the Division Series to end the club's run of eight straight trips to the LCS. Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Kevin Millwood started the three games in the series and produced a cumulative 13.09 ERA.

2001 -- Arizona over Braves in NLCS, 4-1
After sweeping the Astros in the Division Series, the Braves had trouble solving Curt Schilling, Randy Johnson and the Diamondbacks in the NLCS. On the way to their World Series championship, the Diamondbacks claimed the series against the Braves in five games.

2002 -- Giants over Braves in Division Series, 3-2
After winning Games 2 and 3 of the series, the Braves felt confident they would advance to the NLCS for the 10th time since 1991. But two straight losses in which their offense produced a total of four runs ended the dreams for a team that at one point during this season seemed almost unbeatable.

Mark Bowman is an reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

MLB Headlines