To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Hall changes Frick voting process
Below is an advertisement.
10/31/2003 11:00 AM ET 
Hall changes Frick voting process
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
Broadcaster Bob Uecker was the recipient of the 2003 Ford Frick Award. (Ben Platt/
2004 Ford Frick Award nominees

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum's Board of Directors has approved changes to the Ford C. Frick Award voting process, presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Under the revised Award procedures, the electorate size has been increased to include all living Award-winners and six historians appointed by the Hall of Fame. Secondly, a candidate screening committee has been formed to involve fans of the game as part of the process, through an online vote which will annually select three of the 10 finalists annually. Fans will be able to cast votes during the entire month of November at the Hall of Fame's Web site, A Hall of Fame staff research team will select the other seven candidates.

"Because baseball broadcasters have been one of the strongest links between the game and its fans since the 1920s, we wanted to give the fans a say in which broadcasters advance to the final ballot," said Hall of Fame Chairman Jane Forbes Clark. "In addition, the Board felt that the voting body needed to be expanded. Those who have been honored with the Frick Award, as well as the six historians chosen, have a superior knowledge of broadcasting history, and we are delighted they will bestow this honor annually to a legendary voice of the game."

A complete list of candidates will be made available at the Hall of Fame Web site beginning November 1. To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. Fans will have the opportunity to select three of the final 10 candidates on the ballot by logging on to Bios of more than 150 candidates will appear. Fans are allowed to vote once daily. Results of the fan vote will be announced in December.

The new electorate consists of 20 members, featuring the 14 living Frick Award winners: Marty Brenneman, Herb Carneal, Joe Garagiola, Curt Gowdy, Ernie Harwell, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Harry Kalas, Bob Murphy, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Chuck Thompson, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff. Six historians and veteran media members are also part of the electorate, including Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian), Curt Smith (historian) and Larry Stewart (Los Angeles Times).

Voters will be asked to base their selections on the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans. Paper ballots will be cast by voting members each January and the final results will be announced at the Hall of Fame's Web site each February.

Each voter will cast ballots for three candidates and the broadcaster with the most support will be named as that year's award-winner, and be honored the following summer at the annual induction ceremony in Cooperstown.

The annual award is named in memory of Hall of Famer Ford C. Frick, renowned sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball commissioner. The complete list of recipients includes:

1978 Mel Allen       1986 Bob Prince     1995 Bob Wolff
 --  Red Barber      1987 Jack Buck      1996 Herb Carneal        
1979 Bob Elson       1988 Lindsey Nelson 1997 Jimmy Dudley
1980 Russ Hodges     1989 Harry Caray    1998 Jaime Jarrin        
1981 Ernie Harwell   1990 By Saam        1999 Arch McDonald
1982 Vin Scully      1991 Joe Garagiola  2000 Marty Brennaman     
1983 Jack Brickhouse 1992 Milo Hamilton  2001 Felo Ramirez
1984 Curt Gowdy      1993 Chuck Thompson 2002 Harry Kalas
1985 Buck Canel      1994 Bob Murphy     2003 Bob Uecker

The Museum's collections contain more than 35,000 three-dimensional artifacts representing all facets of the game, from its inception in the mid-19th century to present. Three-dimensional artifacts include bats, baseballs, uniforms, player equipment, ballpark artifacts, awards, artwork, textiles, tickets, collectibles and assorted memorabilia. In addition, the Institution's archives contain in excess of 130,000 Baseball cards and 2.6 million Library items, including photographs, books, magazines, newspaper clippings, films, video and audio tapes.

Located on Main Street in the heart of picturesque Cooperstown, New York, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is one of the country's major tourist destinations and is surely the best-known sports shrine in the world. Opening its doors for the first time on June 12, 1939, the Hall of Fame has stood as the definitive repository of the game's treasures and as a symbol of the most profound individual honor bestowed on an athlete. It is every fan's "Field of Dreams," with its stories, legends and magic to be passed on from generation to generation.

Open seven days a week the year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day, the Hall of Fame is open from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. after Labor Day, until Memorial Day Weekend. Summer hours are from 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. daily. Ticket prices are $9.50 for adults (13 and over), $8 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $4 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children six years of age or younger, active and retired card-carrying military personnel. For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is an independent not-for-profit educational institution, dedicated to fostering an appreciation of the historical development of baseball and its impact on our culture by collecting, preserving, exhibiting and interpreting its collections for a global audience as well as honoring those who have made outstanding contributions to our National Pastime.

MLB Headlines