To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Moyer named Hutch Award winner
Below is an advertisement.
12/16/2003 10:37 PM ET 
Moyer named Hutch Award winner
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
This past October, Commissioner Bud Selig (left) presented the Roberto Clemente Award to Jamie Moyer and his wife, Karen. (Brad Mangin/MLB Photos)
The Hutch Award is coming home.

The prestigious honor, awarded annually to the Major League Baseball player displaying the same "honor, courage and dedication to baseball both on and off the field" that Seattle native Fred Hutchison displayed during his career, goes to Mariners left-hander Jamie Moyer, selected Tuesday as the 2003 Hutch Award winner.

"I'm humbled and honored to receive this award," Moyer said. "We are indebted to the Hutch. Being associated with this prestigious award is all the more satisfying because it comes from such a great family, especially the late Dr. Bill Hutchinson. Over all these years, the [Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research] Center has grown into an important facility and also a wonderful place for people with unfortunate situations and illnesses and fortunately they get great care here."

The award is named for, and honors the memory of Hutchinson, who pitched for the Detroit Tigers and also managed the Tigers, St. Louis Cardinals and Cincinnati Reds. The original award plaque resides at the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY.

Moyer was named as a finalist for this year's award along with Marlins third baseman Mike Lowell, Mariners designated hitter Edgar Martinez, right-handed pitcher Jason Schmidt of the Giants and reliever John Smoltz of the Braves.

Winners are determined by a vote by the Hutch Award Selection Committee, which is comprised of past Hutch Award winners.

The Hutch Award was created in 1965 in honor of the late Hutchinson, who died of cancer at the age of 45.

Past Hutch Award winners include Hall of Famers Mickey Mantle, Sandy Koufax, Carl Yastrzemski, Al Kaline, George Brett, and Willie McCovey. Jason Giambi, Curt Schilling, and Tim Salmon are the past three award winners. Hutch Award winners include: 12 League MVP award winners; 10 Hall of Fame inductees and nine World Series MVPs.

The Hutch Award Luncheon will be held on Monday, Jan. 26, 2004 on the playing surface at Seattle's Safeco Field.

Moyer had a superb season on the field in 2003, posting a 21-7 record and 3.27 ERA, becoming a 20-game winner for the second time in the past three seasons. He also had a terrific season off the field, being selected as the Roberto Clemente Award recipient during the World Series, recognizing Moyer's charitable activities with The Moyer Foundation.

Founded three years ago by Jamie and Karen, The Moyer Foundation has raised more than $3 million, to date, for the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Marsha Rivkin Center for Ovarian Cancer Research, LifeCenter Northwest Donor Network, Northwest Harvest, Susan G. Komen Foundation, Hospice of Snohomish County, and numerous other charities around the country.

"Jamie is amazing," said Tori Griffith, director of guilds and special events at Fred Hutchinson. "Not only is he an exceptional pitcher with talent that continues to unfold year after year, he is a also an incredibly kindhearted individual whose compassion touches the lives of many. Fred Hutchinson was known for his character, courage, and determination. I cannot think of a more worthy Hutch Award recipient than Jamie Moyer."

Individuals and groups wishing to attend the luncheon, for a recommended donation of $150 per seat ($1,500 per table of ten), may contact Eileen Sullivan at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center at 206-667-4149.

The Hutch Award Luncheon has raised over $740,000 over the last four years and this year's event will benefit Fred Hutchinson's "Gregory Fund" for early cancer detection research. Later that evening, the award will be formally presented to the winner at the annual Seattle Post-Intelligencer Sports Star of the Year banquet.

Jim Street is a reporter for This story was not subject to approval by Major League baseball or its clubs.

MLB Headlines