To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Division Series umpires set
Below is an advertisement.
10/05/2004 6:54 PM ET
Division Series umpires set
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
Joe Brinkman, a 32-year veteran, will work the NLDS between the Houston Astros and Atlanta Braves. ((Diamond Images))
Twenty-four Major League umpires have been selected to officiate the 2004 American League and National League Division Series games this week. The umpires are grouped into four six-man crews, each led by a crew chief. Umpires Jerry Crawford, Joe Brinkman, Ed Montague and Gerry Davis were selected as crew chiefs for the Division Series.

Crawford will head up Crew A for the Minnesota Twins vs. New York Yankees series and Brinkman will lead Crew B for the series between the Houston Astros and Atlanta Braves. Montague will head up Crew C for the Boston Red Sox vs. Anaheim Angels series and Davis will lead Crew D for the series between the Los Angeles Dodgers and St. Louis Cardinals.

The crew chiefs will work in Leftfield on each of their respective crews. The remaining five umpire positions on the field will be filled by the rest of their crew. In addition to Crawford, Crew A will include: Charlie Reliford (HP), Mark Wegner (1B), Brian Gorman (2B), Mike Everitt (3B) and Paul Nauert (RF). Joining Brinkman on Crew B will be: Tim McClelland (HP), Phil Cuzzi (1B), Wally Bell (2B), Fieldin Culbreth (3B) and Tony Randazzo (RF).

On Crew C, Montague will officiate with Larry Young (HP), Jerry Meals (1B), Brian Runge (2B), Gary Cederstrom (3B) and Kerwin Danley (RF). Crew D will be made up of Davis his crew of Dale Scott (HP), Greg Gibson (1B), Chuck Meriwether (2B), Bruce Dreckman (3B) and Brian O'Nora (RF).

The four crew chiefs selected for this honor have many years of major league umpiring experience under their belts. Brinkman is a 32-year major league umpiring veteran, while Montague has 29 years of experience, Crawford has 28 years and Davis has 21 years.

Brinkman joined the major league staff in 1973. He has worked the All-Star Game (1977, 91, 96), Division Series (1981, 95, 98, 99), League Championship Series (1976, 80, 87, 92, 97) and World Series (1978, 86, 95).

Montague became a member of the major league staff in 1976. He has worked the All-Star Game (1982, 90, 98), Division Series (1981, 95, 2000), League Championship Series (1979, 84, 87, 92, 96, 99, 2001, 02) and World Series (1986, 91, 97, 2000).

Crawford joined the major league staff in 1976. He has worked the All-Star Game (1989), Division Series (1981, 2000, 02), League Championship Series (1980, 83, 85, 90, 93, 95, 96, 99, 2001) and World Series (1988, 92, 98, 2000, 02).

Davis became a member of the major league staff in 1985. He has worked the All-Star Game (1989, 97, 2002), Division Series (1996, 99, 2002), League Championship Series (1990, 92, 95, 98, 2000, 01) and World Series (1996, 99).

The postseason crew chiefs and umpires are chosen for Division Series, League Championship Series and World Series games as a reward for their performance throughout the regular season. This year's Division Series is the sixth selection for Gorman, Meriwether, Scott and Young.

The umpiring crews for the League Championship Series and the 2004 World Series will be announced by Major League Baseball as they are assigned.

Christie Cowles is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

print this pageprint this page    |    email this pageemail this page

MLB Headlines