To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Facts machine
Below is an advertisement.

10/23/2004 9:24 PM ET
Facts machine
Eight of last 10 Game 1 winners took series
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
The winner of the first game of the World Series has gone on to win the Fall Classic 59 times (59.6%). That has been the case in six of the last seven World Series, and eight of the last 10.

Last 11 World Series Game 1 winners
Year Game 1 winner Series result
2004Red Sox 11, Cardinals 9TBD
2003Marlins 3, Yankees 2Marlins, 4-2
2002Giants, 4, Angels 3Angels, 4-3
2001Diamondbacks 9, Yankees 1Diamondbacks, 4-3
2000Yankees 4, Mets 3 (12)Yankees, 4-1
1999Yankees 4, Braves 1Yankees, 4-0
1998Yankees 9, Padres 6Yankees, 4-0
1997Marlins 7, Indians 4Marlins, 4-3
1996Braves 12, Yankees 1Yankees, 4-2
1995Braves 3, Indians 2Braves, 4-2
1993Blue Jays 8, Phillies 5Blue Jays, 4-2

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

print this pageprint this page    |    email this pageemail this page

MLB Headlines