To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Coleman a finalist for Frick Award
Below is an advertisement.
12/13/2004 8:05 PM ET
Coleman a finalist for Frick Award
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
ANAHEIM -- This summer's Hall of Fame induction ceremony is already guaranteed to have a Boston feel to it with five-time batting champion Wade Boggs likely to be inducted on the first ballot. So it would be fitting if this is the year Ken Coleman -- the late, great radio voice of the Red Sox -- gets his ticket to Cooperstown.

It was announced Monday that Coleman was one of 10 finalists for the Frick Award, which is given annually for excellence in broadcasting.

While Coleman worked with three Major League teams (Red Sox, Indians and Reds), his 20 years for the Sox allowed the Quincy, Mass., native to fulfill a fantasy. Coleman worked two stints with the Red Sox (1966-74 and '79-89) and was highly respected by fans and players alike.

With a distinguished and deep voice, Coleman called some of the greatest moments in Red Sox history, many of which came during the Impossible Dream season of 1967. He also was behind the mic on April 29, 1986, when a young Roger Clemens set a Major League record with 20 strikeouts in one game.

  2005 Ford C. Frick
  Award finalists

One of Coleman's most dramatic calls came in Game 5 of the 1986 American League Championship Series, when Dave Henderson hit a two-run homer with two outs in the ninth inning and the Sox one strike from elimination. They came back from a 3-1 series deficit and won the pennant in seven games.

That led to Coleman being forced to broadcast one of the most infamous moments in team history, the Mookie Wilson grounder in Game 6 of the World Series that went through Bill Buckner's legs. The Red Sox lost the series in seven games, and, unfortunately, Coleman, who died in August 2003, was not around to see his hometown team stop the World Series championship drought at 86 years.

Other broadcasters up for the Frick Award are Ron Santo (Cubs), Tom Cheek (Blue Jays), Dave Niehaus (Mariners), Jerry Coleman (Padres), Gene Elston (Astros), Tony Kubek (Blue Jays), France Laux (Cardinals), Dizzy Dean (Cardinals) and Graham McNamee (national).

Frick Committee voting members will cast their votes by mail in January. Results will be announced on Feb. 22 with the awardee honored during 2005 Hall of Fame Weekend, July 29-Aug. 1 in Cooperstown.

Ian Browne is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

print this pageprint this page    |    email this pageemail this page

MLB Headlines