Montanez sits after basepath plunking
Outfielder unable to swing bat after being hit by Polanco throw
DETROIT -- Somebody should put a radar gun on Tigers second baseman Placido Polanco.
Polanco's relay throw on an attempted double play on Friday hit a sliding Lou Montanez on his left hand and left quite a mark.
"Montanez is not able to swing a bat," Orioles manager Dave Trembley said before Saturday night's game against the Tigers. "When he slid into second [Friday] night, he got hit. So he's sore and he's not in the lineup."
Montanez had his left hand and wrist taped up before the game. Trembley thought the rookie outfielder could be ready for the series finale on Sunday.
The Polanco-Montanez play occurred with the bases loaded and one out during a six-run ninth. Orioles shortstop Juan Castro hit a potential double-play ball. Montanez, running from first to second, raised his hands in the air as he slid into the base. Polanco's relay from second to first traveled a few feet before hitting Montanez's hand. Polanco was eventually ejected for arguing that Montanez threw up his arms with an intent to deflect the throw.
Two runs scored on the play, and Baltimore tacked on three more later in the inning to rout Detroit, 11-2.
Trembley didn't watch any replays of the slide. He didn't need to.
"I saw it right here [in the dugout]; I thought it was fine," Trembley said. "I think the key words in the rulebook are 'impair, impede, intent.' I didn't see any of those three. He just went straight in. I think he did OK."
Nick Zaccardi is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.