MILWAUKEE -- The Brewers on Thursday announced the return of "demand-based pricing" for nine games in 2012, an expansion of a pilot program instituted last season that is gaining traction around professional sports.

The system will be implemented in Miller Park's loge outfield and loge bleacher seating categories only, and allows the Brewers to adjust ticket prices in real time based on demand and changing factors, such as team performance, pitching matchups, weather and potential milestones.

  "We tested this program in 2011 with three games, and we were pleased with the results and feedback we received from fans who participated," Brewers COO Rick Schlesinger said in a statement. "Demand-based pricing rewards fans with the best deals if they plan their purchase in advance while also protecting season seat holder value. This structure helps us accommodate more fans with attractive pricing options for seats that otherwise may go unsold."

  Beginning with the first day of individual game sales -- Saturday, Feb. 25 -- pricing for loge outfield and loge bleacher locations for the designated nine games is subject to change. According to the team, fans will usually receive the lowest price the earlier they purchase their tickets to the affected games. 

  The nine affected games are Saturday, April 7 vs. the Cardinals; Monday, May 7 vs. the Reds; Sunday, May 20 vs. the Twins; Friday, June 8 vs. the Padres; Wednesday, July 4 vs. the Marlins; Friday, July 17 vs. the Cardinals; Sunday, Aug. 19 vs. the Phillies; Tuesday, Aug. 21 vs. the Cubs and Saturday, Sept. 15 vs. the Mets.

   The Cardinals, Twins and White Sox also have implemented versions of demand-based pricing, and the Padres are implementing it for the first time this year.