WBC Logo

Pool A

Pool B

Pool C

Pool D

Bracket | Full scoreboard

While the World Baseball Classic was getting under way on the diamond overseas Friday night, the Classic was garnering attention from a different type of fan base on the asphalt in Phoenix.

In the first NASCAR Mexico Series race held outside of Mexico, the car sponsored by World Baseball Classic Inc. took the checkered flag at Phoenix International Raceway. World Baseball Classic Inc. sponsored the car to highlight the start of World Baseball Classic training camps and exhibition games in Phoenix this week.

The World Baseball Classic will be represented throughout all three days of NASCAR racing this weekend, including a promotional display space located on the midway.

Not only did the Classic sponsor the winning No. 5 car driven by Abraham Calderon in Friday's race, but Giants reliever and Team Mexico representative Sergio Romo served as the race's grand marshal. D-backs legend Luis Gonzalez was also in attendance this weekend, participating in various race activities.

Arizona's Chase Field and Salt River Fields at Talking Stick will host the tournament games for Pool D -- consisting of Canada, Mexico, Italy and the United States -- from Thursday through next Sunday. The action starts next Thursday at 1 p.m. MT/3 p.m. ET, when Mexico and Italy square off at Salt River Fields. Team USA will debut the following night at 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET against Mexico at Chase Field.

All 2013 World Baseball Classic games can be watched live on MLB Network and ESPN Deportes.