To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

05/31/2006 12:13 PM ET
Jeter leads all American Leaguers in first All-Star balloting results
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page

New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter is the leading vote-getter among American League players in the first A.L. balloting figures for the 77th All-Star Game, to be played Tuesday, July 11th at PNC Park in Pittsburgh, it was announced today.

Jeter tops the shortstop position with 537,218 votes. The six-time A.L. All-Star currently is batting .338 with five home runs, 38 RBI, 40 runs scored and nine stolen bases in 50 games. Jeter, the Most Valuable Player of the 2000 All-Star Game in Atlanta, is 7-for-10 with a home run, three RBI and a 1.100 slugging percentage in his six previous Midsummer Classics. Last Friday, the Yankee captain collected the 2,000th hit of his career, becoming the eighth player to reach that figure for the franchise. According to the Elias Sports Bureau, the only Yankee to reach that milestone in fewer games than Jeter's 1,571 was Joe DiMaggio (1,537), and only four players since 1961 have reached 2,000 hits in fewer games than Jeter: Wade Boggs (1,515), Kirby Puckett (1,542), Tony Gwynn (1,560) and Rod Carew (1,562).

Other American League position leaders are catcher Jason Varitek of the Boston Red Sox (335,417); Red Sox first baseman David Ortiz (451,431); Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano (289,394); Yankees third baseman Alex Rodriguez (524,153); and outfielders Manny Ramirez of the Red Sox (516,658), Vladimir Guerrero of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (514,013) and Johnny Damon of the Yankees (393,643). Among those who are next in balloting at their positions are catcher Ivan Rodriguez of the Detroit Tigers, shortstop Miguel Tejada of the Baltimore Orioles and outfielder Ichiro Suzuki of the Seattle Mariners.

Toronto Blue Jays outfielder Alex Rios has drawn the most write-in votes of any player in baseball. The 25-year-old Rios, who is tied for baseball's best batting average at .352, has received 58,919 votes. The Major League Baseball All-Star Balloting Program is the largest balloting program in professional sports. The fan balloting program will determine the eight position players from each League who will start the 77th All-Star Game. Ameriquest is sponsoring the 20 million ballots being distributed at the 29 U.S. Major League ballparks and the 1.9 million ballots being distributed to 117 Minor League Baseball Clubs that are in-season during the balloting period. MLB International rightsholder Rogers Personal TV is sponsoring in-stadium balloting at the Rogers Centre in Toronto. The in-stadium program will conclude at Minor League ballparks by June 17th and at Major League ballparks no later than June 24th. online balloting concludes on and the 30 Club Web sites on Thursday, June 29th at 11:59 p.m. (EDT).

Pepsi, which has been the title sponsor of the retail balloting program since 1997, will again be joined by Frito-Lay for 2006 Major League Baseball Retail All-Star Balloting, providing additional exposure for the entire balloting program. Pepsi and Frito-Lay, both divisions of PepsiCo Inc., will distribute over 13 million Major League Baseball All-Star ballots exclusively at more than 3,300 Wal-Mart stores, where balloting began on May 8th and concludes on June 10th across the United States. The 2006 American League and National League All-Star Teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 2nd with a total of 16 elected starters, as determined by the fan balloting program, and 46 pitchers and reserves, as determined by the player ballot and the two All-Star Team managers - American League manager Ozzie Guillen of the Chicago White Sox and National League manager Phil Garner of the Houston Astros - and Major League Baseball.

Immediately following the announcement of the American League and National League All-Star rosters, fans will have the opportunity to select the final position player for each League's 32-man roster at The 2006 All-Star Final Vote will provide fans the opportunity to cast their votes from a list of five players from each League over a four-day period.

Also, for the second year, fans will be able to vote for their Final Vote selections on their mobile phone. Both winners of the All-Star Final Vote will be announced after the voting has concluded on Thursday, July 6th at 6:00 p.m. (EDT).

The 77th Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pre-game ceremonies beginning at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio will provide exclusive, national radio coverage, while will provide extensive online coverage and MLB Radio will provide exclusive play-by-play coverage of the game on the Internet. XM Satellite Radio will provide satellite radio play-by-play coverage of the XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game.

Remaining announcements will be made on the following dates:

Monday, June 5 NL Balloting Release #2
Tuesday, June 6 AL Balloting Release #2
Monday, June 12 NL Balloting Release #3
Tuesday, June 13 AL Balloting Release #3
Monday, June 19 NL Balloting Release #4
Tuesday, June 20 AL Balloting Release #4
Monday, June 26 NL Balloting Release #5
Tuesday, June 27 AL Balloting Release #5
Sunday, July 2 AL/NL Starters & Reserves Announced

May 31, 2006

First Base
1. David Ortiz, Red Sox451,431
2. Jason Giambi, Yankees321,653
3. Paul Konerko, White Sox206,472
4. Travis Hafner, Indians154,878
5. Chris Shelton, Tigers153,197
Second Base
1. Robinson Cano, Yankees289,394
2. Mark Loretta, Red Sox257,125
3. Tadahito Iguchi, White Sox246,838
4. Brian Roberts, Orioles130,702
5. Placido Polanco, Tigers129,596
Third Base
1. Alex Rodriguez, Yankees524,153
2. Mike Lowell, Red Sox224,611
3. Joe Crede, White Sox171,954
4. Eric Chavez, Athletics167,020
5. Troy Glaus, Blue Jays145,243
1. Derek Jeter, Yankees537,218
2. Miguel Tejada, Orioles370,078
3. Michael Young, Rangers142,254
4. Alex Gonzalez, Red Sox130,616
5. Juan Uribe, White Sox121,304
1. Jason Varitek, Red Sox335,417
2. Ivan Rodriguez, Tigers277,034
3. Jorge Posada, Yankees241,736
4. Victor Martinez, Indians196,987
5. A.J. Pierzynski, White Sox180,562
1. Manny Ramirez, Red Sox516,658
2. Vladimir Guerrero, Angels514,013
3. Johnny Damon, Yankees393,643
4. Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners279,843
5. Gary Sheffield, Yankees275,688
6. Vernon Wells, Blue Jays242,211
7. Hideki Matsui, Yankees231,777
8. Scott Podsednik, White Sox195,402
9. Coco Crisp, Red Sox189,680
10. Jermaine Dye, White Sox183,160
11. Trot Nixon, Red Sox177,745
12. Torii Hunter, Twins169,937
13. Grady Sizemore, Indians137,716
14. Jonny Gomes, Devil Rays132,264
15. Kevin Mench, Rangers131,779
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page