To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

06/05/2006 2:26 PM ET
Utley takes lead among National League second baseman; Griffey, Jr. moves to number three in outfield
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page

Chase Utley of the Philadelphia Phillies has assumed the top spot among second basemen while Cincinnati Reds outfielder Ken Griffey, Jr., the all-time leading vote-getter in Major League Baseball history, has landed among the top three outfield positions in National League balloting results for the 77th All-Star Game, to be played Tuesday, July 11th at Pittsburgh's PNC Park.

Utley leads all NL second basemen in home runs (11), RBI (34), runs scored (47), total bases (122), slugging percentage (.522) and extra-base hits (27). With 438,376 votes, Utley has passed the 411,211 votes of Craig Biggio of the Houston Astros.

Fan favorite Griffey, a .435 career hitter in his 12-time All-Star career (eight games), jumped over Jim Edmonds of the St. Louis Cardinals in the outfield with a total of 479,963 votes. Griffey has drawn more than 39 million votes in his career. Edmonds, with 444,094, is now fourth, ahead of Washington Nationals outfielder Alfonso Soriano (436,553).

For the second consecutive week, Cards' first baseman Pujols is the National League's leading votegetter with 1,041,466 votes, the first player to eclipse the one million mark. Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Jason Bay, the National League Player of the Month for May, saw a marked increase, settling into ninth place among N.L. outfielders with a tally of 255,226. Last week, Bay was not among the top 15 vote-getters among N.L. outfielders.

Other National League position leaders are catcher Paul Lo Duca of the Mets (411,131); shortstop David Eckstein of the Cardinals (396,464); third baseman Scott Rolen of the Cardinals (471,826); outfielders Andruw Jones of the Braves (582,749) and Carlos Beltran of the Mets (499,693).

The Major League Baseball All-Star Balloting Program is the largest balloting program in professional sports. The fan balloting program will determine the eight position players from each League who will start the 77th All-Star Game. Ameriquest is sponsoring 20 million ballots being distributed at the 29 U.S. Major League ballparks and 1.9 million ballots being distributed to 117 Minor League Baseball Clubs that are in-season during the balloting period. MLB International rightsholder Rogers Personal TV is sponsoring in-stadium balloting at the Rogers Centre in Toronto. The in-stadium program will conclude at Minor League ballparks by June 17th and at Major League ballparks no later than June 24th. Monster online balloting concludes on and the 30 Club Web sites on Thursday, June 29th at 11:59 p.m. (EDT).

Pepsi, which has been the title sponsor of the retail balloting program since 1997, will again be joined by Frito-Lay for 2006 Major League Baseball Retail All-Star Balloting, providing additional exposure for the entire balloting program. Pepsi and Frito-Lay, both divisions of PepsiCo Inc., will distribute over 13 million Major League Baseball All-Star ballots exclusively at more than 3,300 Wal-Mart stores, where balloting began on May 8th and concludes on June 10th across the United States.

The 2006 American League and National League All-Star Teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 2nd with a total of 16 elected starters, as determined by the fan balloting program, and 46 pitchers and reserves, as determined by the player ballot and the two All-Star Team managers - American League manager Ozzie Guillen of the Chicago White Sox and National League manager Phil Garner of the Houston Astros - and Major League Baseball.

Immediately following the announcement of the American League and National League All-Star rosters, fans will have the opportunity to select the final position player for each League's 32-man roster at The 2006 Monster All-Star Final Vote will provide fans the opportunity to cast their votes from a list of five players from each League over a four-day period.

Also, for the second year, fans will be able to vote for their Final Vote selections on their mobile phone. Both winners of the Monster All-Star Final Vote will be announced after the voting has concluded on Thursday, July 6th at 6:00 p.m. (EDT).

The 77th Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pre-game ceremonies beginning at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio will provide exclusive, national radio coverage, while will provide extensive online coverage and MLB Radio will provide exclusive play-by-play coverage of the game on the Internet. XM Satellite Radio will provide satellite radio play-by-play coverage of the XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game.

Remaining announcements will be made on the following dates:

Tuesday, June 6AL Balloting Release #2
Monday, June 12NL Balloting Release #3
Tuesday, June 13AL Balloting Release #3
Monday, June 19 NL Balloting Release #4
Tuesday, June 20AL Balloting Release #4
Monday, June 26NL Balloting Release #5
Tuesday, June 27AL Balloting Release #5
Sunday, July 2 NL/AL Starters & Reserves Announced

June 5, 2006

First Base
1. Albert Pujols, Cardinals1,041,466
2. Carlos Delgado, Mets304,287
3. Lance Berkman, Astros228,465
4. Nomar Garciaparra, Dodgers203,239
5. Ryan Howard, Phillies187,202
Second Base
1. Chase Utley, Phillies438,376
2. Craig Biggio, Astros411,211
3. Marcus Giles, Braves213,456
4. Jeff Kent, Dodgers205,477
5. Todd Walker, Cubs185,936
Third Base
1. Scott Rolen, Cardinals471,826
2. David Wright, Mets434,519
3. Morgan Ensberg, Astros272,036
4. Chipper Jones, Braves256,778
5. Miguel Cabrera, Marlins214,305
1. David Eckstein, Cardinals396,464
2. Edgar Renteria, Braves341,061
3. Jose Reyes, Mets324,863
4. Jimmy Rollins, Phillies282,538
5. Omar Vizquel, Giants196,407
1. Paul Lo Duca, Mets411,131
2. Mike Piazza, Padres367,161
3. Yadier Molina, Cardinals343,507
4. Brad Ausmus, Astros255,473
5. Michael Barrett, Cubs237,030
1. Andruw Jones, Braves582,749
2. Carlos Beltran, Mets499,693
3. Ken Griffey, Jr., Reds479,963
4. Jim Edmonds, Cardinals444,094
5. Alfonso Soriano, Nationals436,553
6. Bobby Abreu, Phillies343,039
7. Carlos Lee, Brewers298,433
8. Barry Bonds, Giants288,528
9. Jason Bay, Pirates 255,226
10. Aaron Rowand, Phillies242,821
11. Adam Dunn, Reds229,840
12. Jeff Francoeur, Braves191,767
13. So Taguchi, Cardinals185,891
14. Xavier Nady, Mets185,159
15. Juan Encarnacion, Cardinals 183,041
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page