To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

10/25/2006 7:25 PM ET
Ryan Howard, Derek Jeter win 2006 Hank Aaron Award presented by CENTURY 21
Annual award recognizes the most outstanding offensive performers in each league
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig announced today that Ryan Howard of the Philadelphia Phillies and Derek Jeter of the New York Yankees have been selected by the fans as the winners of the 2006 Hank Aaron Award presented by CENTURY 21.

Throughout the final phase of voting, Major League Baseball fans logged on to and cast more than 250,000 votes for the six final players nominated in each league based on their 2006 on-field performance. The Hank Aaron Award, officially-sanctioned by Major League Baseball, recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League. This is the first Hank Aaron Award for both Howard and Jeter.

"To win an award named after the great Hank Aaron is a wonderful achievement and I congratulate Ryan and Derek for the spectacular seasons they had in 2006," said Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig. "They are truly deserving of this prestigious award and I look forward to joining Hank in making the presentation at the World Series."

Howard, who received 33% of all National League fan votes (25,349), led the Major Leagues in home runs this season with 58. He also led the Majors in RBIs (149) and total bases (383). He finished third in slugging percentage (.659) and seventh in on-base percentage (.425).

The left-handed slugger's 58 home runs set a new Phillies' team record, breaking Hall of Famer Mike Schmidt's previous mark of 48. , and marked the most home runs by any second-year player in Major League Baseball history. Howard also was elected to his first MLB All-Star team this season, and won the 2006 CENTURY 21 Home Run Derby. In 2005, he was named the National League Rookie of the Year.

Jeter received 29,275 fan votes, accounting for 37 percent of the American League total. He had the second best batting average in the American League (.343), and finished second in runs (118), tied for third in hits (214) and fourth in on-base percentage (.417). The seven-time MLB All-Star recorded his 2,000th hit earlier in the season, becoming the eighth Yankees player to achieve the milestone. The twotime Gold Glove winner had a 25-game hitting-streak during the season, which was the longest by a Yankees player since 1942 when Joe Gordon hit safely in 29 consecutive games. The 1996 American League Rookie of the Year is the all-time Major League Baseball leader in postseason hits (150).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years. This is the fourth year that Century 21 Real Estate LLC has been the presenting sponsor of the award.

Hank Aaron Award presented by CENTURY 21 Winners

  American League National League
2006 Derek Jeter Ryan Howard
2005 David Ortiz Andruw Jones
2004 Manny Ramirez Barry Bonds
2003 Alex Rodriguez Albert Pujols
2002 Alex Rodriguez Barry Bonds
2001 Alex Rodriguez Barry Bonds
2000 Carlos Delgado Todd Helton
1999 Manny Ramirez Sammy Sosa
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page