To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

10/28/2007 8:05 PM ET
Prince Fielder, Alex Rodriguez win 2007 Sharp presents Hank Aaron Award
Annual award recognizes the most outstanding offensive performers in each league
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig announced today that Prince Fielder of the Milwaukee Brewers and Alex Rodriguez of the New York Yankees have been selected by the fans as the winners of the 2007 Sharp presents Hank Aaron Award.

Throughout the voting process, Major League Baseball fans cast nearly 400,000 votes by voting at, the official Web site of Major League Baseball. The Hank Aaron Award, officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball, recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League.

"Hank had an enormous impact on the game during his playing career and he continues to serve our national pastime as a tremendous ambassador," said Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig. "This award created to honor Hank recognizes two players who have had fantastic offensive seasons, and I can not think of two more deserving than Alex and Prince. I would also like to thank Sharp for its support of Major League Baseball and the Hank Aaron Award."

"We're very excited to be a part of Major League Baseball and proud to help honor the legacy of Hank Aaron," said Michael Troetti, President, Sharp Electronics Marketing Company of America. "Congratulations to Alex and Prince, who both helped make this season a great one."

Fielder, who received 16% of all National League fan votes during the final phase of voting, finished the season among the National League leaders in home runs (1st, 50), slugging percentage (2nd, .618), extra-base hits (3rd, 87), RBI (tied 3rd, 119) and total bases (4th, 354). His home run total established a new single season franchise record and also set a new Milwaukee record. The left-handed slugger's 87 extra-base hits also tied a Club record. The first baseman was selected by the fans to start in the 78th Midsummer Classic.

On September 25th, the 2002 first round draft pick had his eighth career multi-homer game, giving him 50 for the season. Fielder became the youngest player (23 years, 139 days) in Major League history to hit 50 home runs in a season, breaking the record of Willie Mays (24 years, 137 days).

Rodriguez received 24% of all American League fan votes during the final phase of voting. He led the Major Leagues in home runs (54), RBI (156), runs (143) and slugging percentage (.645). Rodriguez is the only player in Major League history to record at least 140 runs, 50 home runs, 150 RBI, and 20 stolen bases in a single season. His 52 home runs as a third baseman this year (two as a DH) were the most ever hit by a third baseman in a single season. This is the fourth Hank Aaron Award for the 11-time A.L. All-Star.

The two-time American League MVP is the first Yankee to hit at least 54 home runs in a season since Roger Maris (61 home runs) set the Club record in 1961. He established the franchise record for a righthanded batter and tied for the fourth highest single season total in team history. On August 4th, the two-time Gold Glove Award winner became the youngest player ever to hit 500 home runs and only the 22nd in Major League history to reach the plateau.

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000); Rodriguez and Barry Bonds (2001, 2002); Rodriguez and Albert Pujols (2003); Ramirez and Bonds (2004); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); and Derek Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.

Sharp is in its first year of a multi-year sponsorship agreement which makes Sharp AQUOS the "Official High-Definition Television of Major League Baseball". Sharp is also the presenting sponsor of the American and National League Player of the Month Awards.

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page