To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

06/25/2008 3:48 PM ET
Umpires, official scorers appointed for 79th All-Star Game
Derryl Cousins to serve as Crew Chief at the 2008 Midsummer Classic
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
Derryl Cousins, a regular season Crew Chief in his 30th year of Major League service, will serve as Crew Chief and work behind the plate at the 79th All-Star Game, to be played Tuesday, July 15th at Yankee Stadium.

This will be the third All-Star Game assignment for Cousins, who also worked the Midsummer Classic in 1987 and 1998. Cousins has worked five Division Series, five League Championship Series and three World Series. Cousins will be joined by Ed Rapuano (first base), Tom Hallion (second base), Mark Wegner (third base), Greg Gibson (left field) and Phil Cuzzi (right field). This will be the second All-Star Game for Rapuano (1995) and Hallion (1992) and the first Midsummer Classic for Wegner, Gibson and Cuzzi.

The official scorers of the 2008 All-Star Game will be Bill Shannon, a longtime Major League Baseball official scorer based in New York; Bob Dutton of the Kansas City Star; and Dan Graziano of the Newark Star-Ledger.

The Minor League Baseball Umpires who will work the State Farm Home Run Derby on July 14th are Mark Lollo, John Tumpane and Toby Basner. Lollo will also take on officiating duties with Tyler Funneman for the Taco Bell All-Star Legends and Celebrity Softball Game, which will take place on July 13th.

The 79th Major League Baseball All-Star Game being held at Yankee Stadium in its final season, will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pregame ceremonies beginning at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage that will also be available on XM Satellite Radio, while will provide extensive online coverage.
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page