To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

10/30/2009 6:44 PM ET
Clark, Sutton, Rojas get the call
MLB Network to air Rising Stars, championship games
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
PHOENIX, Ariz. -- MLB Network will nationally televise two Arizona Fall League games in November: the fourth annual Rising Stars Game and the league championship contest.

Arizona Diamondbacks' television play-by-play voice Daron Sutton will be joined by former Major League first baseman Tony Clark to describe the Rising Stars Game at Surprise Stadium, the spring home of the Kansas City Royals and Texas Rangers, at 8 p.m. ET (6 p.m. in Ariz.) on Saturday, Nov. 7.

Later in the month, Clark, who played for the Tempe Rafters in the 1994 Arizona Fall League, will pair with MLB Network host Victor Rojas to call the championship game from Scottsdale Stadium, the spring home of the San Francisco Giants, at 2:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. in Ariz.) on Saturday, Nov. 21.

Rising Stars Game
Scouting and Minor League directors of every Major League organization, in consultation with Arizona Fall League director, Steve Cobb, and his baseball personnel staff, select the players for the Rising Stars Game, a showcase pitting elite prospects from each Major League organization in an East Division vs. West Division format.

The East Division squad will be comprised of prospects from the Angels, Athletics, Blue Jays, Cubs, Diamondbacks, Giants, Marlins, Nationals, Orioles, Phillies, Pirates, Rays, Red Sox, Rockies and Twins.

The West Division will field players from the Astros, Braves, Brewers, Cardinals, Dodgers, Indians, Mariners, Mets, Padres, Rangers, Reds, Royals, Tigers, White Sox and Yankees.

Many future Major League standouts appeared in the first three Rising Stars games, including Gordon Beckham (White Sox), Ryan Braun (Brewers), Jacoby Ellsbury (Red Sox), Yunel Escobar (Braves), Tommy Hanson (Braves), Phil Hughes (Yankees), Kevin Kouzmanoff (Padres), Jed Lowrie (Red Sox), Charlie Morton (Braves), Daniel Murphy (Mets), Hunter Pence (Astros), Ryan Sweeney (Athletics), Troy Tulowitzki (Rockies) and Matt Wieters (Orioles),

Championship game
The Arizona Fall League annually pits its two division winners in a championship game. The Phoenix Desert Dogs have won championship rings each of the past five years.

MLB Network
MLB Network launched on Jan. 1, 2009 as the largest debut in cable television history and it is currently delivered to approximately 54 million cable and satellite homes. With live games, original programming, highlights, classic games, coverage of baseball events, and now the Arizona Fall League, MLB Network is the ultimate television destination for baseball fans. For more information, please visit online.

Arizona Fall League
The Arizona Fall League, known throughout professional baseball as a "finishing school" for Major League Baseball's top prospects, is a six-team league owned and operated by MLB that plays six days per week in five Cactus League stadiums in the Phoenix metropolitan area. The championship game, to be telecast on Nov. 21 will cap the league's 18th season. For additional Arizona Fall League information, please visit online.

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page