To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

07/06/2010 5:19 PM ET
Six participants announced for State Farm® Home Run Derby
Four American League Competitors, Two National Leaguers Set
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
Major League Baseball announced today that six All-Star players have committed to participating in the 2010 State Farm Home Run Derby.

The American League will feature Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers, Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees, David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox and Vernon Wells of the Toronto Blue Jays. The two National League participants thus far are Corey Hart of the Milwaukee Brewers and Matt Holliday of the St. Louis Cardinals.

Ortiz participated in the Derby each year from 2004-2006. Cabrera took part in the 2006 event at PNC Park in Pittsburgh. Holliday competed in the 2007 Derby at AT&T Park in San Francisco. This will mark the Derby debuts for Cano, Hart and Wells. Entering play today, Hart is tied for third in the National League with 19 home runs. Wells is fifth in the American League with 19 home runs, while Ortiz is tied for seventh. Cano's .342 batting average is the second highest in all of Major League Baseball, while Cabrera's .339 mark is fifth in the Majors. Cabrera's 71 RBI and .631 slugging percentage both lead the Major Leagues.

The remaining competitors will be announced when they have been confirmed.

The 2010 State Farm® Home Run Derby, part of Gatorade All-Star Workout Day, will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes, ESPN 3D and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 5:00 p.m. PT (8:00 p.m. ET) on Monday, July 12th.

The 81st Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and Le Reseau des Sports, and around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pregame ceremonies beginning at 8:00 p.m. (EDT)/5:00 p.m. (PDT). ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage. MLB Network, and Sirius XM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Game coverage.

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page