© 2006 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

07/10/06 5:16 PM ET

All-Star MVP awaits your vote

Fans will once again help decide recipient of Arch Ward Trophy

Willie Mays. Brooks Robinson. Carl Yastrzemski. Frank Robinson. Gary Carter. Roger Clemens. Ken Griffey Jr. and Sr. Bo Jackson. Cal Ripken Jr.

They are just some of the legends of Major League Baseball who have been chosen as Most Valuable Player of the All-Star Game since the award was first given in 1962.

Now it is your turn again to help decide which name is added to the celestial list.

The 77th All-Star Game begins at 8 p.m. ET on Tuesday, and for the fourth consecutive year, fans around the world will have the opportunity to help decide the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award, presented by Chevrolet, by participating in the Monster 2006 All-Star Game MVP Vote on MLB.com.

You can begin casting votes for the award starting with the sixth inning, by which time some strong candidates will have emerged. The voting will continue until the MVP is announced immediately following the end of the game.

The online fan vote will count for 20 percent, with the other 80 percent coming onsite from the Baseball Writers Association of America and the announcers from the All-Star Game's three broadcast rights holders: FOX Sports, ESPN Radio and MLB International.

Immediately following the conclusion of the All-Star Game, the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player will receive the Arch Ward Trophy, which was first presented in 1962 as a tribute to the man who founded the All-Star Game in 1933. That first presentation went to Leon Wagner of the Los Angeles Angels and to Maury Wills of the Los Angeles Dodgers, because two Midsummer Classics per year were played in those days.

These are the players who have won the award since the fan vote was factored in:

2003: Garret Anderson of the Angels.
2004: Alfonso Soriano of the Rangers.
2005: Miguel Tejada of the Orioles.

"I'm just happy, I'm really happy that they gave me the honor," Tejada said after fans helped grant him the honor last July in Detroit. "I just want to work harder and harder every day in everything that I do. When I get an award like that, my family is more proud of me. So this makes me more proud and work harder because my family is really happy."

How happy would Tejada be if the fan vote helps him become the first player ever to win an All-Star MVP award in back-to-back years? There have been plenty of two-time winners, but none in consecutive summers.

Perhaps this will be the year when you help decide whether a player will become the first ever to win All-Star MVP honors in both leagues. Soriano is now a National League starter representing the Nationals, so he is in position to be the first.

Whichever player you choose, just choose carefully. It's a grand tradition, and these days you are a part of it. Fans determined the starting position players and the 32nd and final roster spots for this All-Star Game, and it only makes sense to carry over that empowerment with this important decision. History awaits your verdict.

The 77th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pregame ceremonies beginning at 8 p.m. ET. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive, national radio coverage, while MLB.com will provide extensive online coverage and MLB Radio will provide exclusive play-by-play coverage of the game on the Internet.

Mark Newman is enterprise editor for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.