© 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

05/30/07 1:12 PM ET

Hall of Famers to take part in Draft

Roberts, Palmer, Winfield, Lasorda to attend June 7-8 event

Major League Baseball will be televising its annual First-Year Player Draft for the first time this season and will be employing some of the game's most recognizable names to help bring the process to the little screen.

Hall of Famers Robin Roberts, Jim Palmer, Dave Winfield and Tommy Lasorda will be among those on hand to represent their respective clubs in the Draft.

The first day of the Draft takes place June 7 at Disney's Wide World of Sports complex in Orlando, Fla. The first round will be aired on ESPN2 beginning at 2 p.m. ET, and MLB.com will have every pick of the 50-round Draft, start to finish.

MLB.com will also air the second day of the draft, June 8, and provide analysis throughout the broadcast, which will begin at 11:30 a.m. MLB.com will also air an hour-long draft preview show beginning June 7 at 2 p.m.

Roberts, who won 286 games over a 19-year career, will represent the Phillies along with former manager Dallas Green. Palmer, who won 268 games and was on three World Series winners, will represent Baltimore. Winfield, who collected 3,110 hits over a 22-year career, will represent the Padres, the team with whom he broke into the Major Leagues after being selected with the fourth pick in the 1973 Draft. Lasorda, one of the game's best-known ambassadors, will represent his longtime club, the Dodgers.

Other notables expected to represent their clubs include Ralph Garr (Atlanta), Dwight Evans (Boston), Chet Lemon (Chicago White Sox), Ken Griffey Sr. (Cincinnati), Robby Thompson and Ellis Burks (Cleveland), Walt Weiss (Colorado), Willie Horton (Detroit), Andre Dawson (Florida), Enos Cabell (Houston), Frank White (Kansas City), Tony Oliva (Minnesota), Darryl Strawberry (New York Mets), Frank Howard (New York Yankees), Terry Steinbach (Oakland), Steve Blass (Pittsburgh), Felipe Alou (San Francisco), Don Zimmer (Tampa Bay), Jim Sundberg (Texas), and Barry Larkin and Tim Foli (Washington).

Kevin Czerwinski is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.