© 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/10/07 3:33 PM ET

Crew chiefs named for LCS

McClelland will handle NL while Marsh oversees AL

BOSTON -- Randy Marsh and Tim McClelland, two umpires with 26 years of Major League experience each, have been named the crew chiefs for the League Championship Series.

McClelland will be the crew chief for the NLCS between the Arizona Diamondbacks and Colorado Rockies that starts on Thursday at Chase Field. Marsh will be the crew chief for the ALCS between the Boston Red Sox and the Cleveland Indians that begins on Friday at Fenway Park.

This will be the 16th postseason assignment for McClelland, including his seventh LCS. Marsh will be working his 18th postseason series and his eighth LCS. Both will be behind the plate for Game 1 of their series.

McClelland's crew will include Angel Hernandez, Mark Wegner, Larry Vanover, Tom Hallion and Jim Joyce. Working with Marsh at the ALCS will be Kerwin Danley, Brian Gorman, Paul Emmel, Gary Cederstrom and regular-season crew chief Dana DeMuth.

The NL crew has worked a combined 43 playoff series, including 11 by Joyce and and 10 by Hernandez. Hallion and Wegner have both worked three previous playoff series and Vanover has worked one.

The AL crew has worked a combined 51 playoff series, including 11 by DeMuth, nine by Gorman and seven by Cederstrom. Danley has done four and Emmel has done three postseason series.

T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.