© 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/09/07 4:00 PM ET

Fielder picks up more hardware

First baseman earns his first Silver Slugger Award

MILWAUKEE -- Hopefully, Prince Fielder saved some room on his mantel.

The Brewers first baseman took home another major award on Friday when he was named the National League's Silver Slugger at first base. Last month, Fielder won a Players Choice Award as the NL's most outstanding player, and he also won the Hank Aaron Award as the league's top offensive performer.

Fielder is a first-time Silver Slugger Award winner after batting .288 in 2007 and leading the NL with 50 home runs and a .618 slugging percentage. He ranked second in the league with a 1.013 OPS, third with 119 RBIs and seventh with 109 runs scored.

Five of the nine NL honorees were first-time winners including Fielder, who is the first Brewers player to win a Sliver Slugger Award since Carlos Lee in 2005. Now a member of the Houston Astros, Lee was among the three NL outfielders to win the award this year.

Louisville Slugger's Silver Slugger Award winners were determined by a vote of Major League coaches and managers who vote for the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both leagues in 2007. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

The specially designed awards will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger bats, in a ceremony early in the 2008 season. The trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league.

Fielder's father, Cecil, won Silver Slugger Awards with the Detroit Tigers in 1990 and 1991.

Brewers players have been honored 12 times with Silver Slugger Awards, with three players winning the award more than once. First baseman Cecil Cooper won it in three consecutive seasons from 1980-82, Robin Yount won it twice as a shortstop (1980 and 1982) and once as an outfielder (1989) and Paul Molitor won it as a designated hitter in 1987 and 1988. Outfielder Ben Oglivie (1980) and designated hitter Dave Parker (1990) joined Lee and Fielder as first-time Brewers winners.

Fielder is also contender for the NL MVP Award, set to be announced on Nov. 20.

Adam McCalvy is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.