© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

01/29/08 2:03 PM ET

Caribbean Series Hall of Famers named

Llenas, Thon, Heredia to be enshrined this weekend

Their play in the Caribbean was legendary. Their status is now officially historic.

Dominican Winston Llenas, Puerto Rican Dickie Thon and Venezuelan Ubaldo Heredia have been named the newest members of the Caribbean Series Hall of Fame and will be enshrined this weekend during the Caribbean Series in Santiago, Dominican Republic.

The trio was voted in by journalists, radio and television broadcasters, as well as baseball historians from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Venezuela and the Dominican Republic. Each received at least the minimum 75 points to secure their enshrinement. There are now 52 members representing six countries in the Caribbean Series Hall of Fame.

Thon played shortstop in four Caribbean Series, hitting .318 with 29 RBIs in 91 at-bats. His third appearance in the Caribbean Series came in 1983 and his fourth 10 years later. A 15-year Major League veteran, Thon hit .264 with 193 doubles and 42 triples with the Angels, Astros, Padres, Phillies, Rangers and Brewers, starting in 1979. He was an All-Star and Silver Slugger winner in 1983.

He received 98 points.

Llenas was a championship infielder, coach, manager, general manager and president of Aguilas Cibaenas during his career. He played in 15 games in three Caribbean Series, hitting .327 during that span. He hit .230 in 300 Major League games during six seasons with the Angels, starting in 1968, and excelled as a pinch-hitter. He received 108 points.

Heredia, a right-hander, played in four Caribbean Series. He won two games in seven appearances (22 1/3 innings) pitching for Venezuela's La Guaira. He pitched one season in the Major Leagues, going 0-1 with six strikeouts and 5.40 ERA for Montreal in 1987. He received 75 points.

Notable members of the Caribbean Series Hall of Fame include Willie Mays (U.S.), Davey Concepcion (Venezuela), Rod Carew (Panama), Hector Espino (Mexico), Victor Pellot (Puerto Rico), Rico Carty and Manny Mota (Dominican Republic), and Camilo Pascual and Orestes "Minnie" Minoso(Cuba).

The 50th annual Caribbean Series will start on Saturday and continue through Feb. 7 at Cibao Stadium, with one team each from Venezuela and Mexico, and two from the Dominican Republic. Puerto Rico did not have Winter League play this year.

Jesse Sanchez is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.