© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

02/19/08 2:40 PM ET

Nuxhall falls short of Frick Award

Late Reds broadcaster was finalist for second straight year

SARASOTA, Fla. -- For the second straight year, Joe Nuxhall was a Ford Frick Award finalist -- but not the recipient.

The late, great former Reds broadcaster and player came up short in the final vote.

The 2008 Ford Frick Award, which is given annually by the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y., will go to longtime Mariners broadcaster Dave Niehaus. The Hall of Fame announced the election results on Tuesday.

Besides Nuxhall and Niehaus, the rest of the final ballot included Dizzy Dean, Tom Cheek, Tony Kubek, Joe Morgan, Bill King, Dave Van Horne, Graham McNamee and Ken Coleman.

Nuxhall died at age 79 of complications from lymphoma on Nov. 15. In December, he became one of three Frick finalists via an online vote from fans. Of more than 122,000 online ballots cast by fans, Nuxhall received 82,304 votes. No one else came remotely close to that total. The other seven finalists, including Niehaus were named by the Frick nominating committee.

A Cincinnati legend who was known as the "Ol' Lefthander," Nuxhall will likely continue to receive feverish fan support for his candidacy each year until he's elected. He spent 63 years associated with the Reds organization. First, he was a pitcher who spent parts of 15 of his 16 Major League seasons in Cincinnati in 1944 and from 1952-66.

In 1967, he began a more iconic career as radio voice that lasted full-time until 2004 and part time through 2007. For 31 years, Nuxhall had a thriving on-air partnership with legendary voice Marty Brennaman that began in 1974. Brennaman was named the Ford Frick Award winner in 2000.

Niehaus will be honored during Hall of Fame Weekend, July 25-28 in Cooperstown.

Mark Sheldon is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.