© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

04/29/08 3:00 PM ET

All-Star Game fact sheet

• The 2008 All-Star Game, to be played on July 15, will be Major League Baseball's 79th Midsummer Classic.

• The 2008 Midsummer Classic will mark the first time in baseball history that an All-Star Game has been held in a ballpark in its final year.

• It will mark the fourth time that Yankee Stadium has played host to the All-Star Game, joining 1939, 1960 (the second ASG of the season) and 1977, and it will be the eighth Midsummer Classic in New York City (Polo Grounds, 1934 and 1942; Ebbets Field, 1949; and Shea Stadium, 1964).

• The National League has a 2-1 advantage in the three previous All-Star Games played at Yankee Stadium, winning the last two. The American League won by a 3-1 score in 1939; the NL blanked the AL 6-0 in 1960; and the NL prevailed 7-5 in 1977.

• The Yankees have had the most All-Star players (112) and the most total All-Star selections (384) of any franchise since the Midsummer Classic originated in 1933.

• Derek Jeter is the only Yankee to be named the All-Star Game Most Valuable Player since the MVP was first given in 1962. The Yankee captain earned the honors after a 3-for-3 effort with two RBI and a run scored in the 2000 All-Star Game at Atlanta's Turner Field.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.