© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

06/30/08 6:43 PM ET

More All-Star dignitaries announced

McCovey, Gossage among those in pregame ceremonies

NEW YORK -- Former All-Star Game Most Valuable Players Brooks Robinson and Willie McCovey and relief specialists Bruce Sutter and Goose Gossage, who were part of the last All-Star Game at Yankee Stadium in 1977, were among the latest Hall of Famers named on Monday to take part in pregame ceremonies at the All-Star Game on July 15 at the Stadium.

Additional participants of what will be the largest gathering of baseball stars on one field at the same time prior to the 79th All-Star Game in the final season of "The House That Ruth Built" will be announced exclusively each week on FOX's Saturday Baseball Game of the Week.

The Hall of Famers will also participate with the AL and NL All-Star squads in the All-Star Game Red Carpet Parade, presented by Chevy, up Sixth Avenue from 48th to 58th Streets in Manhattan from 1 to 3 p.m. ET the day of the game. FOX will televise the parade at 7 p.m. as a lead-in to the live coverage of the pregame ceremony at 8 p.m.

Robinson, who was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1983 and is a member of its Board of Directors, was the MVP of the 1966 game at Busch Stadium in St. Louis despite being on the losing side. The National League won the game, 2-1, in 10 innings. Robinson, who played the entire game at third base for the American League, was 3-for-4, including a triple in the second inning, when he scored the AL's lone run on a wild pitch by Los Angeles Dodgers left-hander Sandy Koufax.

It was one of three triples Robinson hit in his 18 All-Star Games, totaling 45 at-bats. Robinson's first All-Star appearance was in 1960, when he played in both games, the second at Yankee Stadium. One of his other triples came in another New York-hosted All-Star Game, at Shea Stadium in 1964, the year he won the AL MVP Award. The 16-time Gold Glove winner played all 23 of his Major League seasons with the Baltimore Orioles.

McCovey, who was inducted into the Hall in 1986, was the MVP of the 1969 All-Star Game at Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium in Washington, D.C. The first baseman hit two home runs in the NL's 9-3 victory. Just as Robinson had done, McCovey also was his league's MVP that year. "Stretch" was the NL Rookie of the Year in 1959, and went on to hit 521 home runs, including 18 grand slams, in a 22-year career with the San Francisco Giants, Oakland Athletics and San Diego Padres.

Sutter was on the NL All-Star roster in 1977 but did not get into the game. The master of the split-finger fastball made up for that in four subsequent All-Star Games, when he posted a 2-0 record with two saves and 6 2/3 scoreless innings. Sutter won the NL Cy Young Award with the Chicago Cubs in 1979 and starred for the St. Louis Cardinals' 1982 World Series championship team. He had 300 saves in 12 seasons and was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2006.

Gossage was elected to the Hall in January and will be inducted on July 27 in ceremonies at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown, N.Y. The Goose has many fond memories of Yankee Stadium from his six-plus seasons in pinstripes, but also when he wore another uniform and opposed a future teammate.

"I played in the last All-Star game there as a member of the Pittsburgh Pirates, and I struck out Thurman Munson to end the game for a 7-5 victory," said Gossage, who had 310 saves for nine teams. "There are lots of great memories about Yankee Stadium, and I can't comprehend that this will be the last All-Star Game played there. It is very special that Major League Baseball is honoring the Hall of Famers that evening, and even more special that it will be in the same year that I am getting inducted."

Harmon Killebrew, who started All-Star Games at three positions (third base, left field and first base), was also announced as a participant as well as pitchers Fergie Jenkins and Robin Roberts, shortstop-outfielder Robin Yount and manager Tommy Lasorda.

Killebrew, who entered the Hall in 1984, was the AL MVP for the Minnesota Twins in 1969, the year after he suffered a ruptured hamstring while stretching for a throw at first base in the 1968 All-Star Game at the Houston Astrodome. He led the AL in home runs six times and finished with 573 in a 22-year career that began with the Washington Senators and ended with the Kansas City Royals.

Jenkins won the NL Cy Young Award in 1971, the next-to-last year of a six-season stretch that he won 20 games in a season for the Chicago Cubs. The right-hander had 284 victories and 3,192 strikeouts in 19 years that included time with the Philadelphia Phillies, Texas Rangers and Boston Red Sox. Jenkins was elected to the Hall in 1991.

Roberts also won 20 or more games six consecutive seasons, for the Phillies in the 1950s when he made seven straight All-Star appearances, including five starts. The right-hander, a Hall of Famer since 1976 and a member of its Board of Directors, once had a stretch of 28 consecutive complete games. Roberts, who also pitched for the Orioles, Astros and Cubs, totaled 286 victories and completed more than half (305) of his starts (609).

Yount, who played his entire 20-year career with the Milwaukee Brewers, was the AL MVP at two positions, as a shortstop in 1982 and as a center fielder in 1989. He had 3,142 hits, including 583 doubles, 126 triples and 251 home runs. Yount, who was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1999, drove in 1,406 runs and scored 1,632.

Lasorda, who was voted into the Hall in 1997, managed the Dodgers for 21 years and won eight division titles, four pennants and two World Series championships (1981 and 1988). He was the NL Manager of the Year in 1983 and 1988 and won three of the four All-Star Games he managed.

The 20 Hall of Famers also to be honored that were previously announced include Luis Aparicio, Ernie Banks, Yogi Berra, Wade Boggs, George Brett, Lou Brock, Gary Carter, Orlando Cepeda, Bob Feller, Rollie Fingers, Bob Gibson, Tony Gwynn, Ralph Kiner, Willie Mays, Eddie Murray, Phil Niekro, Frank Robinson, Mike Schmidt, Earl Weaver and Dave Winfield.

Jack O'Connell is a reporter at MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.