© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/01/08 11:45 AM ET

Phillies announce playoff roster

Club will count on 11-man pitching staff against Brewers

PHILADELPHIA -- The Phillies have set their playoff roster for the National League Division Series, going with an 11-man pitching staff.

complete postseason coverage

Rookie lefty J.A. Happ made the team as a long man, safeguarding against a starter's short outing. He cost veteran Rudy Seanez a spot, despite the fact that the veteran has made four career postseason appearances. Seanez and catcher Lou Marson will travel with the team.

So Taguchi also captured the final bench spot over the inexperienced Greg Golson, thought to be a contender as a pinch-runner. Taguchi is the more well-rounded player and has postseason experience.

Of the players not on the roster, pitchers Kyle Kendrick, infielders Mike Cervenak and Andy Tracy, and outfielder Greg Golson have reported to Clearwater, Fla., and will participate in the Florida Instructional League. Adam Eaton, Les Walrond and Tadahito Iguchi have returned home.

Under MLB rules, rosters can be changed for each series. Pitcher-for-pitcher and player-for-player replacements for an injured player are allowed, but an injured player replaced must miss the rest of that series and the next series.

The roster looks like:

Joe Blanton
Clay Condrey
Chad Durbin
Scott Eyre
Cole Hamels
J.A. Happ
Brad Lidge
Ryan Madson
Jamie Moyer
Brett Myers
J.C. Romero

Chris Coste
Carlos Ruiz

Eric Bruntlett
Greg Dobbs
Pedro Feliz
Ryan Howard
Jimmy Rollins
Chase Utley

Pat Burrell
Geoff Jenkins
Matt Stairs
So Taguchi
Shane Victorino
Jayson Werth

Ken Mandel is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.