© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/29/08 10:36 PM ET

Twice as valuable

Five players have been named MVP of a League Championship Series and World Series in the same season:

2008: Cole Hamels, Phillies
1997: Livan Hernandez, Marlins
1988: Orel Hershiser, Dodgers
1982: Darrell Porter, Cardinals
1979: Willie Stargell, Pirates

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.