© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

01/12/09 2:32 PM EST

Wait draws on for Morris, Trammell

Neither member of '84 championship team is called by Hall

The wait for the 1984 Tigers to have one of their key players in the Hall of the Fame continues. As expected, neither Jack Morris nor Alan Trammell received enough votes for induction when results were announced Monday afternoon.

Morris was selected on 44 percent of ballots in his 10th year under consideration. His 42.9 percent mark last year was his previous high mark. He has five more years to try for induction before his eligibility for the ballot runs out.

Trammell, who was selected on 18.2 percent of the ballots last year, received 17.4 percent support this time around in his eighth year on the ballot.

Thus, their respective debates will go on for another year. For Morris, the question among eligible members of the Baseball Writers Association of America has always been whether his status as the winningest pitcher of the 1980s and his postseason prowess, including three World Series championships, should overshadow a 3.90 ERA over his 18-year Major League career.

For Trammell, meanwhile, his year-in, year-out performance at the plate and in the field has never won over enough voters. His situation is especially sensitive to many Tigers fans who point out that Ozzie Smith's defensive wizardry earned him induction on his first ballot.

2009 Hall of Fame Inductions
2009 Results
PlayerTotal VotesPercentage
Rickey Henderson51194.8%
Jim Rice41276.4%
Andre Dawson36167.0%
Bert Blyleven33862.7%
Lee Smith24044.5%
Jack Morris23744.0%
Tommy John17131.7%
Tim Raines12222.6%
Mark McGwire11821.9%
Alan Trammell9417.4%
Dave Parker8115.0%
Don Mattingly6411.9%
Dale Murphy6211.5%
Harold Baines325.9%
Mark Grace224.1%
David Cone213.9%
Matt Williams71.3%
Mo Vaughn61.1%
Jay Bell20.4%
Jesse Orosco10.2%
Ron Gant00%
Dan Plesac00%
Greg Vaughn00%

Trammell, for his part, has long since reconciled himself with the probability that he will not be voted into the Hall. Morris has spent more effort arguing for former competitor and good friend Bert Blyleven's case than worrying about his own.

The only member of the 1984 Tigers currently in the Hall is their manager, Sparky Anderson. Morris and Trammell broke into the Majors with the Tigers in 1977, the same year that Lou Whitaker and Lance Parrish made their big league debuts. Together, they'd form the core of one of the greatest single-season teams of their generation, winning 35 of its first 40 games and never looking back on the competition.

Together, they remain the last Tigers championship team. Trammell was the World Series MVP that year.

"Maybe people are looking at us as not exactly as superstars, but a team," Trammell said a few years ago. "That's the way we were taught and that's the way we played every day."

Jason Beck is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.