© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/14/09 5:46 PM ET

Veteran umps named LCS crew chiefs

Marsh to lead NLCS staff; McClelland to handle ALCS

Longtime veteran umpires Tim McClelland and Randy Marsh will serve as the crew chiefs for the League Championship Series.

Marsh, a 28-year veteran, will helm the National League Championship Series between the Phillies and Dodgers that begins on Thursday night at 8:07 p.m. ET on TBS in Los Angeles. This will be Marsh's 19th postseason assignment and ninth LCS. His crew will include Gary Cederstrom, Tom Hallion, Ted Barrett, Bruce Dreckman and Sam Holbrook.

The ALCS between the Angels and Yankees commences on Friday at 7:57 p.m. ET on FOX at Yankee Stadium.

Also in his 28th season, McClelland will be working his 18th career postseason series and ninth LCS. The umpires working with him are Dale Scott, Jerry Layne, Fieldin Culbreth, Laz Diaz and Bill Miller.

Mark Sheldon is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.