© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/30/09 10:35 PM EST

Voting for Frick Award begins on Tuesday

Fans can submit their nominations on Hall's Facebook page

Starting Tuesday, baseball fans can nominate their favorite broadcasters for the Hall of Fame's prestigious Ford C. Frick Award.

Voting begins at 10 a.m. ET on the Hall of Fame's Facebook page, facebook.com/baseballhall, and concludes at 5 p.m. ET on Dec. 31.

Fans will have the opportunity to select from more than 200 eligible broadcasters, and the top three selections will appear on the final, 10-name ballot for the 2010 award. Bios of each candidate will be available at www.baseballhall.org.

Tony Kubek won the 2009 Ford C. Frick Award and took his place in Cooperstown in July.

Last year's top three vote-getters were Joe Nuxhall, a fixture with the Cincinnati Reds for 53 years as a pitcher and announcer before his death on Nov. 15, 2007; Jacque Doucet, who spent his entire 34-year career with the Montreal Expos as the play-by-play radio voice on their French-language network; and Tom Cheek, who died during the 2005 season, his 28th as the Toronto Blue Jays' radio play-by-play man.

The candidates nominated by the Frick Award Committee last year included Hall of Fame pitcher Dizzy Dean, who worked Cardinals and Browns games in St. Louis as well as the national Game of the Week in the 1950s and 1960s; play-by-play voices Ken Coleman (Cleveland Indians, Cincinnati Reds, Boston Red Sox), Lanny Frattare (Pittsburgh Pirates) and Dave Van Horne (Montreal Expos, Florida Marlins); Spanish radio and TV announcer Billy Berroa (New York Mets); and broadcasting legend Graham McNamee (Westinghouse, NBC), who called 12 World Series beginning in 1923.

Established in 1978, the Frick Award honors excellence in baseball broadcasting and is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network or combination of the two. This year's winner will be selected by a 20-member electorate, which will announce its choice in early February.

The voting electorate features Kubek, five historians and the 14 other living Award winners -- Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Ernie Harwell, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Denny Matthews, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff.

Voters are asked to base selections on a broadcaster's longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including such national assignments as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans. To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a club, network or combination of the two.

Alden Gonzalez is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.