© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

04/17/10 11:35 PM ET

No-hit history now eluding only trio of teams

Jimenez's gem leaves Padres, Mets, Rays without milestone

It took Colorado less than two weeks into its 18th season. Ubaldo Jimenez put the Rockies on the no-hit map with his Saturday night gem in Atlanta.

But two of the oldest expansion teams in the National League are still waiting for their first no-hitters.

The San Diego Padres, born in 1969, are in their 42nd season of waiting. Even more intriguing, considering their rich legacy on the mound, are the New York Mets, who 49 seasons into it are still a no-show in no-nos.

Those are two of only three Major League teams that have never had a pitcher navigate nine innings without allowing a hit.

The other club still waiting is Tampa Bay, but the Rays are only 13 years young.

On the other side of history, each of the 30 big league clubs has been no-hit.

In the post-expansion era, the Padres and the Mets have been among the most frequent victims. San Diego has been held hitless seven times, and New York six times.

Although no Mets pitcher has hurled a no-hitter, their longtime home was not exempt from that singular moment when a starting pitcher bears down looking for out No. 27.

Philadelphia's Jim Bunning (1964, his perfect game) and Pittsburgh's Bob Moose (1969) both pitched no-hitters before Shea Stadium's 45-year run ended with last year's dedication of Citi Field.

So in the annals of no-hitters, one of the biggest oddities still is the fact that one was never pitched in Pittsburgh's Forbes Field. The oldest park in the Major Leagues at the time, it finally gave way in the middle of the 1970 season to Three Rivers Stadium. Forbes Field was the scene of thousands of games since its 1909 opening, none of them hitless.

As if to dramatize the challenge to pitchers of Forbes Field's expansive outfield, the Bucs' Nick Maddox did pitch a no-hitter shortly before the team moved into that park -- on Sept. 7, 1907, against the Dodgers.

And shortly after the wrecking ball found Forbes Field, Bob Gibson pitched a no-hitter in Pittsburgh: His Aug. 14, 1971 gem against the Pirates came in only the 91st game played in Three Rivers Stadium.

First no-hitter for each franchise (Post-1900)
With his masterful performance against the Braves on Saturday night, Ubaldo Jimenez became the first Rockies hurler to toss a no-hitter. Only three franchises have yet to have a pitcher throw a no-hitter: the Mets, Padres and Rays. Randy Johnson holds the distinction of breaking the no-hitter ice for two teams: the Mariners and D-backs.
Team Pitcher Opponent Date
Angels Bo Belinsky Orioles May 5, 1962
Astros Don Nottebart Phillies May 17, 1963
Athletics (1) Weldon Henley Browns July 22, 1905
Blue Jays Dave Steib Indians Sept. 2, 1990
Braves (2) Big Jeff Pfeffer Reds May 8, 1907
Brewers Juan Nieves Orioles April 15, 1987
Cardinals Jesse Haines Braves July 17, 1924
Cubs Jimmy Lavender Giants Aug. 31, 1915
D-Backs Randy Johnson Braves May 18, 2004
Dodgers (3) Mal Eason Cardinals July 20, 1906
Giants (4) Christy Matthewson Cardinals July 15, 1901
Indians Bob Rhoads Red Sox Sept. 18, 1908
Mariners Randy Johnson Tigers June 2, 1990
Mets Yet to throw no-hitter
Marlins Al Leiter Rockies May 11, 1996
Nationals (5) Bill Stoneman Phillies April 17, 1969
Orioles (6) Earl Hamilton Tigers Aug. 30, 1912
Padres Yet to throw no-hitter
Phillies Chuck Fraser Cubs Sept. 18, 1903
Pirates Nick Maddox Superbas Sept. 20, 1907
Rangers Jim Bibby Athletics July 30, 1973
Rays Yet to throw no-hitter
Red Sox (7) Cy Young* Athletics May 5, 1904
Reds Nixey Callahan Phillies July 12, 1900
Rockies Ubaldo Jimenez Braves April 17, 2010
Royals Steve Busby Tigers April 27, 1973
Tigers George Mullin Browns July 4, 1912
Twins (8) Walter Johnson Red Sox July 1, 1920
White Sox Frank Smith Tigers Sept. 6, 1905
Yankees George Mogridge Red Sox April 24, 1917
* Perfect Game

(1) Then the Philadelphia Athletics (2) Then the Boston Doves (3) Then the Brooklyn Superbas (4) Then the New York Giants (5) Then the Montreal Expos (6) Then the St. Louis Browns (7) Then the Boston Americans (8) Then the Washington Senators

Tom Singer is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.