© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

09/15/10 5:26 PM ET

Carpenter, Young elected to AFL Hall of Fame

PHOENIX -- St. Louis Cardinals right-handed starting pitcher Chris Carpenter and Texas Rangers third baseman Michael Young have been elected to the Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame.

"Throughout the past decade, Chris Carpenter and Michael Young have been among baseball's most consistent performers," Fall League Director Steve Cobb offers, "making them two of the most prolific players in recent major-league history. The Fall League is proud to have contributed to their outstanding careers. Their career statistics speak for themselves. Chris has displayed fortitude in overcoming injuries twice to regain his Cy Young-winning form; Michael Young epitomizes the word 'professional' in every way."

Carpenter will be inducted on Tuesday, November 9 prior to the 6:35 p.m. game between the Peoria Saguaros and Peoria Javelinas at Peoria Sports Complex. Young's induction date is to be determined.

Chris Carpenter - The 35-year-old Carpenter, a 1996 Phoenix Desert Dog, is one of three former Fall Leaguers (Roy Halladay, Brandon Webb) to win a Cy Young Award. Carpenter achieved the feat in 2005 when he went 21-5 with a 2.83 earned-run average and also became the first Cardinal hurler to win the award since Bob Gibson in 1970. The two-time all-star (2005-06) boasted the highest winning percentage (.729) among all major-league starters from 2004-07.

A native of Exeter, New Hampshire, Carpenter also is a two-time comeback player-of-the-year award winner after missing most of three seasons due to injury. He won the award for the first time in 2004 after missing the entire 2003 campaign, and after pitching only five times in 2007-08, Carpenter again rebounded to go 17-4 with a 2.24 earned-run average in 2009.

To date in 2010, Carpenter is dominating again, sporting a 15-6 record and 3.09 earned-run average in his first 31 league-leading starts.

He has won 15 or more games in each of his last five injury-free seasons.

His career record stands at 132-80 with a 3.79 earned-run average in 13 seasons (six Toronto, seven St. Louis).

Michael Young - The 33-year-old Young was the American League batting champion in 2005 with a career-best .331 average when he also led the league with 221 hits and 66 multi-hit games. The career .300 hitter, who has appeared in nearly 1500 major-league games over 11 seasons, has hit .306 or better six times.

A Grand Canyon Rafter in 2000, Young recorded over 200 hits in five consecutive seasons (2003-07).

Named to six consecutive all-star teams from 2004-09), the Covina, California product was named most valuable player of the 2006 All-Star Game.

Young also won a Gold Glove Award in 2008.

Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame - The Arizona Fall League, founded in 1992, formed its Hall of Fame in 2001 to honor the top major-league players and managers who honed their skills in the AFL.

The inductions of Carpenter and Young increase the Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame to 26 members.

The selection committee, chaired by baseball ambassador Roland Hemond, the "Architect of the Arizona Fall League," bases its appointments upon individual achievement at the major-league level since participating in the Arizona Fall League.

Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame

• Garret Anderson
• Dusty Baker
• Chris Carpenter
• Jermaine Dye
• Terry Francona
• Nomar Garciaparra
• Jason Giambi
• Brian Giles
• Shawn Green
• Roy Halladay
• Todd Helton
• Torii Hunter
• Derek Jeter
• Derrek Lee
• Grady Little
• Ken Macha
• Jerry Manuel
• Tony Pena
• Troy Percival
• Mike Piazza
• Albert Pujols
• Jimmy Rollins
• Mike Scioscia
• Alfonso Soriano
• Eric Wedge

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.