© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/09/10 4:08 PM EST

Ichiro wins 10th Gold Glove, Gutierrez his first

Veteran right fielder's run ties Griffey for franchise record

SEATTLE -- No team in Major League Baseball has had more Rawlings Gold Glove winners over the past two decades than the Seattle Mariners, and that trend continued Tuesday with the selection of outfielders Ichiro Suzuki and Franklin Gutierrez to the 2010 American League team.

Ichiro won his 10th consecutive Gold Glove and Gutierrez earned his first such honor, as announced by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company and MLB.

The Mariners have now had a least one Gold Glove winner for 24 straight seasons, easily the longest active streak in the Majors. The next-longest current streak is Minnesota with 10.

The AL winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, with the number of Gold Gloves each has won in his career.
C Joe Mauer, Twins 3
1B Mark Teixeira, Yankees 2
2B Robinson Cano, Yankees 1
3B Evan Longoria, Rays 2
SS Derek Jeter, Yankees 5
OF Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners 10
OF Carl Crawford, Rays 1
OF Franklin Gutierrez, Mariners 1
P Mark Buehrle, White Sox 2

Since 1987, Seattle has now won 38 individual Gold Glove Awards. The Yankees have the second-most AL Gold Gloves in that 24-year period with 26. The St. Louis Cardinals have won 32 Gold Gloves since '87, with the 2010 National League winners still to be named on Wednesday.

Ichiro's run of 10 straight Gold Gloves from 2001-10 ties him for the Mariners' record set by Ken Griffey Jr. from 1990-99. Ichiro also won seven straight Gold Gloves in Japan for the Orix Blue Wave from 1994-2000.

Ichiro became just the 16th player in Major League history to win 10 Gold Gloves and the first to do so in his first 10 seasons.

Roberto Clemente and Willie Mays (12 each) are the only outfielders with more than 10.

Gutierrez is at the other end of the spectrum, winning his first Gold Glove after becoming the first Major League outfielder to post an error-less season with more than 400 total fielding chances.

Mariners Gold Glove Winners
Year Player(s)
1987 P Mark Langston
1988 P Mark Langston
2B Harold Reynolds
1989 2B Harold Reynolds
1990 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
2B Harold Reynolds
1991 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
1992 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
1993 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
SS Omar Vizquel
1994 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
1995 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
1996 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
OF Jay Buhner
1997 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
1998 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
1999 OF Ken Griffey Jr.
2000 1B John Olerud
2001 OF Ichiro Suzuki
OF Mike Cameron
2002 OF Ichiro Suzuki
1B John Olerud
2B Bret Boone
2003 OF Ichiro Suzuki
OF Mike Cameron
1B John Olerud
2B Bret Boone
2004 OF Ichiro Suzuki
2B Bret Boone
2005 OF Ichiro Suzuki
2006 OF Ichiro Suzuki
2007 OF Ichiro Suzuki
3B Adrian Beltre
2008 OF Ichiro Suzuki
3B Adrian Beltre
2009 OF Ichiro Suzuki
2010 OF Ichiro Suzuki
OF Franklin Gutierrez

Gutierrez, 27, was perfect in 415 opportunities in center field -- 413 putouts and two assists -- to break the old mark of 396 errorless chances by Curt Flood in 1966.

He has now played 190 straight games and handled 542 consecutive plays without an error over two seasons.

Ichiro posted a .989 fielding percentage with just four errors in 365 chances in right field, where he led the league in putouts, total chances and innings played while finishing third in fielding percentage and fourth in assists.

This was the 11th time in Mariners history the club earned multiple Gold Gloves in the same season and the fourth time that honor went to two outfielders. Ichiro and Mike Cameron both were selected in 2001 and '03, while Jay Buhner and Griffey doubled up in 1996.

The Mariners' streak of 24 straight seasons is obviously helped by the decade-long dominance of Griffey and now Ichiro. The one year between those two outfielders was bridged by a Gold Glove for first baseman John Olerud in 2000.

Seattle's streak began in 1987, when pitcher Mark Langston became the franchise's first winner and he and second baseman Harold Reynolds continued the trend up until Griffey took the baton in '90.

By comparison, the Twins have the next-longest AL streak with 10 straight Gold Glove Award winners in the wake of catcher Joe Mauer's selection on Tuesday. No other AL club has currently won more than four in a row.

The longest active streak in the NL is four by the Padres and Dodgers heading into Wednesday's announcement for the NL winners.

The Gold Gloves are voted on by managers and coaches in each league.

Greg Johns is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @GregJohns1. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.